Fordmods Logo

How is speed/rpm/temp/volts etc transmitted? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: How is speed/rpm/temp/volts etc transmitted?
Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Just wondering if any of the electronically-minded could tell me how the falcons transmit the signals for speed, revs, temperature, voltage, fuel level etc etc...

i was thinking it could be a variable voltage signal, or a more tricky digital signal.

the reason I ask is that I am interested in making a LCD display of this kinda of data (in digital form)

thanks people

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:46 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 336

Joined: 2nd Sep 2005

Location: Normzville
WA, Australia

vehicle speed and rpm are digital pulses. temperature and fuel are variable resistors operating on a reference voltage.
voltage is well voltage.

 

_________________

<a href="http://www.spyderbyte.com.au">
<img border="0" src="http://www.spyderbyte.com.au/updated.gif" width="189" height="45"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

how are the digital pulses read by the cluster? I assume a timing circuit would be required, sounds pretty detailed but ill have a shot

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

theres a tech doc on the EEC-v ecu's and a few on clusters. have a search through there, they have some stuff on it

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:30 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 336

Joined: 2nd Sep 2005

Location: Normzville
WA, Australia

shannonwulff wrote:
how are the digital pulses read by the cluster? I assume a timing circuit would be required, sounds pretty detailed but ill have a shot


by measuring the frequency.

 

_________________

<a href="http://www.spyderbyte.com.au">
<img border="0" src="http://www.spyderbyte.com.au/updated.gif" width="189" height="45"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 2015

Joined: 9th Mar 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Territory TX AWD & AUII XLS EGAS

Location: East Kurrajong
NSW, Australia

I was just reading up on it on Ford Forums ... they have tech docos on it. And shows how they are connected to the ECU ... with was for the AU I6 PCM though ... showed all of the voltage ranges and which pins they connect to on the PCM.

 

_________________

04 Territory TX AWD - Winter White - optioned up
06 Falcon BFII XLS ute EGAS - Winter White - EGA-54D Version 2

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Someone here made a datalogger from the information that is sent to the dash. I forget who tho??

Was it data_mine? Definately one of the guys who is very computer literate.

I think VSS goes directly to ECU and also directly to the instrument cluster.

Temp, RPM i think goes to the ECU, which transmits it via the serial data link to the cluster??

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 2015

Joined: 9th Mar 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Territory TX AWD & AUII XLS EGAS

Location: East Kurrajong
NSW, Australia

Yes via Serial Data Link to the cluster from the ECU. It is like that for many things.

 

_________________

04 Territory TX AWD - Winter White - optioned up
06 Falcon BFII XLS ute EGAS - Winter White - EGA-54D Version 2

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 2:17 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

4.9 EF Futura wrote:
Someone here made a datalogger from the information that is sent to the dash. I forget who tho??

Was it data_mine? Definately one of the guys who is very computer literate.

Spork, I remember reading his threads about it, was pretty interesting stuff.
He hasn't posted in awhile.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

just read all the related posts by Spork, very interesting, he put a lot of effort into the project. Does anyone know if the circuit diagram in Spork's user gallery is the completed project or still the proto?

thanks

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:38 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names