Fordmods Logo

how to connect speakers to amp 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 31 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: how to connect speakers to amp
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 7:30 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

how do i connect the speakers to the amp.. i original had a sub connected to the amp but i gave it back to my friend so i want to connect the speakers to the amp. i got a boss 4 channel amp and 6' kenwood speakers..
cheers...

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

just take the positive and negative wires from each speaker (currently connected to the respective wires on the headunit) down to the amp....hook each up with the matching correct polarity to each amp channel..u get me or need more clarification.

Do you speakers currently connect direct to the head unit or via an active crossover..?

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:08 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

huh? haha ok . the speakers are currently connected to the head unit. i got 2 rca cables going into the amp.. think thats wrong. the head unit has 2out put plugs. I did connect the wires from the speaker to the amp but no sound is coming out of it. i think the rca cables might have something to do with it.

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeh could be .... you have the speakers wired to the amp with the correct polarities...positive to positive and negative to negative...also since a sub was on this amp is there a LPF (low pass filter) if so turn it off or set to HPF(high pass filter - meant for speakers...LPF for subs)

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

shnoza wrote:
huh? haha ok . the speakers are currently connected to the head unit. i got 2 rca cables going into the amp.. think thats wrong. the head unit has 2out put plugs. I did connect the wires from the speaker to the amp but no sound is coming out of it. i think the rca cables might have something to do with it.


but yes RCS could also be he cause....you say u have 2x pre outs at the rear of your headunit...do u mean one red rca out and one white or 2x pysical sets of rca outs...so 2 red 2 white?

Are they labelled such as Front, Rear or sub ?

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

it worries me when questions like this come up... no offence but alot of people damage their cars and sound systems when they fiddle with things there not too sure on.

you will need to disconnect the speakers from the head unit and plug them straight into the rear channels on the amp + to + and - to - (straight forward) remember to check your volume levels before turning on otherwise you may blow your speakers as many people do.

what model boss amp is it? if i know the model i can help you out more. if the sub worked before you removed it then it should still work but will require tuning such as turning the low pass filter (LPF) to FPF - full pass to allow all sound to pass through not just bass.

the RCA cables will still be ok aslong as they wernt plugged into the low pass filter output on the headunit if it has them

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

huggiebear wrote:
it worries me when questions like this come up... no offence but alot of people damage their cars and sound systems when they fiddle with things there not too sure on.

you will need to disconnect the speakers from the head unit and plug them straight into the rear channels on the amp + to + and - to - (straight forward) remember to check your volume levels before turning on otherwise you may blow your speakers as many people do.

what model boss amp is it? if i know the model i can help you out more. if the sub worked before you removed it then it should still work but will require tuning such as turning the low pass filter (LPF) to FPF - full pass to allow all sound to pass through not just bass.

the RCA cables will still be ok aslong as they wernt plugged into the low pass filter output on the headunit if it has them


apart from huggy just repeating what i said lol ... with the RCAs its only a matter of working out what u actually have and ensuring you dont have something silly setup like balance all set to the front and then u connect the only rears rca out from head unit to the amp and hope for sound that sorta thing but im sure it wouldnt be as fiddly as that

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:28 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

i know i can damage things that why i try to be careful.. i dont turn the speakers pass 50% of max volume. the amp is a BA - 2900. i lost the menu and cannot find it anywhere on the net. ill try to set it to high pass filter.. also i got 2x pysical sets of rca outs. colours are black (negitive) and red (positive) think its that way.

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

sorry for repeating. im replying to multiple threads and forgetting whats been said... but yes what Big Kev said ;)

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

shnoza wrote:
i know i can damage things that why i try to be careful.. i dont turn the speakers pass 50% of max volume. the amp is a BA - 2900. i lost the menu and cannot find it anywhere on the net. ill try to set it to high pass filter.. also i got 2x pysical sets of rca outs. colours are black (negitive) and red (positive) think its that way.


ok so 2x sets of pre-outs on the head unit what about on this Boss amp...and what do u plan to run off it...all 4 speakers(fronts & rears) or just the fronts??

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

bass amp he said was a 4 channel so it would have 4. i recomend running all 4 speakers off the amp, not just 2. the upper range boss amps also have the outputs on amps to jumper the rca's to run multiple amps

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

Image

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:37 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

yeh thats the amp.. i tryed the high pass filter and nothing happen. but when i switch between the two filters i can heard a sound like power is going to the speaker but no music. it happens for a split second.

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

check your earth, if its not earthed properly it can cause some funny things to happen. remember you want FULL pass noy HIGH.

LOW = sub
FULL/MID = speakers
HIGH = tweeters

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:43 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

um my negitive is going back to the battry. is that ok? or should i earth it to the car?

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:39 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names