Fordmods Logo

HOW TO REMOVE A EF RADIO 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: HOW TO REMOVE A EF RADIO
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:23 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 105

Joined: 18th Aug 2006

Ride: ed 6

Location: Korumburra
VIC, Australia

How do i remove a ef radio and i need to know what colours wire are what got to do a install save me plenty of time if i know half of what i have to do cheers guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1802

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Horsham
VIC, Australia

i take it you puting in a new one ay
go down to supercheap/autobarn/autopro
and get a plug so you can plug that in to the ford
raido plug then you only need to do the colors
for the new radio makes it piss easy toke me like 15min
to wire up the g/f new cd player

 

_________________

EFBIGNIK 145.9 RWKW Falcon / 16.27 @ 86.72mph (Stock)
http://s60.photobucket.com/albums/h38/e ... urnout.flv
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1802

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Horsham
VIC, Australia

oh and you'll need torqs bit you can buy or go to ford
and as them to remove them for you or ask for the tool
and do it your self

 

_________________

EFBIGNIK 145.9 RWKW Falcon / 16.27 @ 86.72mph (Stock)
http://s60.photobucket.com/albums/h38/e ... urnout.flv
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

are u installing a aftermarket radio/cd player?

first you need to remove the whole dash, then remove the ashtray. next you will need special tox screws to remove the radio (they are not normal screws). You can get these attachments from super cheap auto.
remove the radio from the plugs, then install your new headunit. i would recommend that you buy the radio wiring loom for EF. this will allow you to connect the correct coloured wires to each other.

i cant really remember which wire goes to what, but i do remember that the rear speakers are seperated from the main bunch of wires.
super cheap auto sells the wire loom for about $20 or so.

try that out, ask any further questions if you have any doubts.
good luck
ps you have a great name :p

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 4:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Only the surround has to be removed, start with pulling out the ash tray and there is one screw on the bottom left and either a screw or pull out on the bottom right. Unplug cigarette lighter and light. Torque bits will be needed to remove the HU screws. If the HU brackets dont pull straight out you will have to gently pry apart the plastic surround to give sufficient clearance for bracket tabs to. If installing a new HU its best to modify the factory brackets to fit the new HU. If the old HU is a double din and you are fitting a single din HU get hold of the single din surround from a wreckers and the single din brackets (new single din surrounds from Ford cost approx $115). Loom adaptors can be purchased for the wiring or cut and solder factory wires onto new HU loom. Wiring color coding can be found in the technical documents section.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: cant find wiring colours
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 6:14 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 105

Joined: 18th Aug 2006

Ride: ed 6

Location: Korumburra
VIC, Australia

hey cant find wiring colours
i will wire it up dont be lazy guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 6:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

look, the technical document says how to remove it, however their colour codes were wrong, i'm still not sure if the mods have fixed it up yet.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cant find wiring colours
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 6:17 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ryan_meyer wrote:
hey cant find wiring colours
i will wire it up dont be lazy guys

I can actually smell the irony.

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=27

Seek and ye shall find.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cant find wiring colours
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 6:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
ryan_meyer wrote:
hey cant find wiring colours
i will wire it up dont be lazy guys

I can actually smell the irony.

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=27

Seek and ye shall find.


just warning as before, the wiring colours are wrong in this description, I had to work em out.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 6:23 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

How are the colours wrong?
They seem very similar to ED.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 6:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

well, when I did my uncles el, just about every colour there is wrong, speaker combo colours were about 75% wrong. There wasn't even any yellow in any of the wires (there was orange), the pin numbers are all wrong and constant 12V was wrong. Dark blue and white was right (but wrong pin). I didn't write down what they all actually should have been but I would definately steer clear of this guide till its fixed up.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 6:38 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 250

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Ride: EF OPT20

Location: Country
SA, Australia

The following is correct for EF:

Front LH + : Orange/LightGreen
Front LH - : Orange/Black
Front RH + : Grey/DarkGreen
Front RH - : Grey/Black
Rear LH + : Pink/DarkGreen
Rear LH - : Pink/Black
Rear RH + : DarkBlue/Red
Rear RH - : DarkBlue/Black
Ground : Black
Battery (Constant) : DarkGreen/Yellow
Accessories (Ignition switch) : DarkBlue/White
Illumination: Brown
Dimming: DarkBlue/Red
Power Antenna : Red/DarkBlue

Notes -
First color listed is the main wire color, the second being the thin trace color.
While the Rear RH + and Dimming wires are the same colors they go into differant plugs (all rear speaker wires go into the smaller plug).

 

_________________

'94 EF GLI
Dash Mat
Color-coded Ashtray
Polished Wheel Nuts

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

for my connector there are 2 plastic plugs
the colors listed above i do not have.

The wires that came with my pioneer are all the same with the new EF plug i have bought except on the new plugs the wires are orange and blue where the head unit is black and blue/white ...

please help

thanks daniel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 8:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 581

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF Fairmont AU Falcon FG XR6

Location: Eastern Suburbs,VIC
VIC, Australia

spend the $14 get the wiring plug

plug at 1 end and wires are the other no other plugs just 1

match the colours up soldier heat srink em will never fail

remove the front facia pop the ashtray down and remove a few screws at the bottom pop it off then u will see the headunit and 2 TAMPERPROOF bolts remove then with TAMPERPROOF hex head bits (they are hollow in the middle)

use ur factory brackets redrill holes if needed plug in put it all back together keep ur factory headunit write the sec code on it with a texta store it for when comes time to sell the car plug the factory one back in for the factory look and transfer ur aftermarket headunit into a new car

easy as that.... chopping wires and taping them up will only work for so long until they come loose

also what i would do it run rca leads plug them in and connect your remote wire tape up the end and leave them under the carpet on the passenger side so when it comes time to install amps u will not have to undo the radio facia

if the oem harness has already been played with before maybe use a light tester to find ya const power (memory) and ya iggy active (powers up with iggy is on and no power when iggy is off cant find ground tap into ur ciggy lighter
power up the head connect wires use fad and bal to find ya speakers match em solder em

if all sounds 2 hard get the autobarn monkeys to install it

1 more tip look at what brands are keeping their aftermarket plugs (which connect to the headunit its self) i noticed most kenwoods use the same plug so when its time to upgrade for example from cd player 2 cd/mp3 player u can just plug it in

 

_________________

My Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ok, i have bought the plug which has to plastic plugs at the end which matches behind the stock headunit. So i have purchased the correct one.

I have matched all colours the only problem is that there is 2 colours that dont match. There is none for Black and Blue. The remaining are Orange and a Blue/White. So im not sure what to do there ?

I have removed there stereo/stacker, i didnt have any problems with these bolts you have mentioned :S

and i will be keeping the old stacker :P
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:35 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names