Fordmods Logo

ICC VGA Computer Input Solution 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ICC VGA Computer Input Solution
Posted: Mon May 21, 2007 12:04 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 110

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

So i got my new car (BA xr8) with the premium sound etc etc, first thing was to try and make this VGA video connection. After following the techo document i made the cable (cost me $5 and half hour, which works a treat), then frigged around with a horizontal and vertical to composite sync circuit which i found on the net to get a clear picture. useless as far as my attempts go....

All you need is a program called PowerStrip (along with the techo document cable), i used version 3.74. the attached pic is a screenshot of the settings you need for it to work. i will post up 2moro a pic of my screen playing video from a laptop output.

 

 

Attachments:
Timing.jpg
Timing.jpg [ 86.84 KiB | Viewed 263 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 10:05 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 110

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

For those who need a visual heres a video playing on the screen

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: Video playing from laptop output
DSC01937.JPG
DSC01937.JPG [ 845.04 KiB | Viewed 98 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 2:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Nice find mate :)

I'm looking at getting a BA shortly so I'll be sure to give this a crack!

For those too lazy to google it, here's the link to the program download

http://entechtaiwan.com/files/pstrip.exe

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 23, 2007 1:21 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 110

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

Im currently working to integrate a little celeron computer i have to use for
music
movies
gps
bluetooth phone etc

setting it up using media engine for now as a front end, but i like the look of roadrunner if i can get it working with no hassles.....www.mp3car.com has heaps of info as im sure most of you know :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 8:48 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 204

Joined: 8th Mar 2005

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia V8

Location: City
NSW, Australia

Yeah this is good s**t. I modded my xbox to NTSC and i have an xbox setup under the seat. Watching DVDs is cool
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 9:43 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

While you're responsibly parked of course.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 10:41 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 204

Joined: 8th Mar 2005

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia V8

Location: City
NSW, Australia

yes it was parked with the handbrake on and not in traffic.


The ICC is good but the audio side leaves a lot to be desired. Whine through the audio is highly annoying even with the amplified kit.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 11:03 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 115

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: EF XR6

Location: Dalby
QLD, Australia

any pics or diagrams on making the cable. or can you make me one and i buy it off you??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 11:38 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 204

Joined: 8th Mar 2005

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia V8

Location: City
NSW, Australia

For anyone doing a car computer. You can also use an ARCADEvga video card that runs the native res of the ICC in NTSC.

160 od bucks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 24, 2007 11:40 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 204

Joined: 8th Mar 2005

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia V8

Location: City
NSW, Australia

gravelrash wrote:
any pics or diagrams on making the cable. or can you make me one and i buy it off you??



I will take pics tommorow for you. I am working on one for the XBOX 360 its much easier because you can get the high def VGA output and run it straight in.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 8:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

gravelrash wrote:
any pics or diagrams on making the cable. or can you make me one and i buy it off you??

Dude look in the tech docs section - Fordmods was the first site to post how to make a vga input for your ba premo icc
If you click on the tech docos link up the top you will find complete instructions on how to make it

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 5:24 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I'll be doing this soon, so I can get R34 GTR style readout.

e.g.
Image

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 5:32 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

And of course I've got to get it to do this...
Image

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 6:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

heh, I have a JPG on my HDD media player with a 'danger to manifold' image that I can flick up :lol:

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:11 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names