Fordmods Logo

In need of help with Capacitor 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: In need of help with Capacitor
Posted: Sat May 06, 2006 8:33 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 88

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I have recently brought a cap to add to my system. However i am haveing troubles wiriing it up.
What i have done is
+ from battery to dis block
dis block then goes to cap and the 2 amps
Each amp and cap has their own grounding point.. the issue im having i think it is with the remote/trigger wire.
I have included a pic to show what i have done

The problem is the amps are working in reverse. When the car is off the amps are on. When the car/headunit is on the amps go off.

Can anyone help?

Thanks

 

 

Attachments:
wiring.JPG
wiring.JPG [ 27.72 KiB | Viewed 25 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 06, 2006 9:02 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Where is that trigger wire coming from?

If its from an ignition/accy switched relay, sounds like you have it connected to the wrong terminal of the relay.

What does the blue wire need to turn the amps on? Positive or negative 12V?

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 06, 2006 9:06 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 88

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

the trigger wire comes from the headunit. And im pretty sure is wired correctly because it worked fine for 12months before i added the cap. I havent changed anything with the trigger wire, just added the cap and now it doesnt work correctly
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 06, 2006 9:21 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

First thing is to disconnect that positive cap wire to check if you bumped something during install - check if it is still working correctly.

ALso, it sounds like the blue trigger wire is getting power at the wrong time, possibly through the cap somehow. check it out by disconnecting the trigger wire at the head unit and see if it is still behaving opposite.

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 07, 2006 1:32 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 180

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: FG XR6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

the wiring as you describe it and in the diagram is perfect.
the trigger wire is the problem.

need to do some trouble-shooting. disconnect the trigger wire, and use a short scrap piece of wire to connect from the amp +12 terminal to the amp trigger terminal. When you touch this wire on, the amp should turn on, take this wire off amp turns off.
if that happens - like it should - then your trigger wire is playing games.

the trigger wire should provide +12v to +14v only when you have your key in the accessory position and radio turned on. got a multimeter?

 

_________________

Subtle but high quality audio system.
Alpine processor and amp / Focal Utopia splits / Soundstream Exact sub

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 07, 2006 8:11 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 88

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

maximus - i just tested that and yes i think my trigger wire is playing games. But why... and only after i have installed the cap. i put the multimeter across the trigger wire it read about 9v, then i turned the the head unit on and it read about 4v.
i am completley lost with this one
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 07, 2006 9:26 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Make sure you test the trigger wire when it is disconnected from the amps. You might want to separate both the amps triggers as well, in case one is faulty.

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 07, 2006 11:23 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 88

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yes the trigger wire was disconnected from the amps at the time. Is there anywhere else i can run a trigger wire from?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 08, 2006 6:47 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Well, first try disconnecting it from the head unit as well, to check if it has a small short to ground, which might explain the voltage being pulled lower to 9V.

When I say disconnect from the amps, I also mean isolate both of them, in case only one is the problem. Remove the bridge that connects them both to check each individually.

Remove the trigger wire from the head unit, replace it with a temporary one, running to only one amp, and go from there.

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 08, 2006 2:40 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 180

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: FG XR6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

i'll brainstorm a few things for you...

is it the same trigger wire that is running a power antenna? maybe it can't supply enough current to turn all these things on.

trigger wires are blue or blue with white stripe. is that the wire you are using?

go to the back of the h/u. remove the trigger wire. stick your multimeter on the terminal that the wire runs from. is it the right voltage?

i'm leaning towards headunit wiring is wrong. if it thoroughly checks out ok then its the headunit itself.

 

_________________

Subtle but high quality audio system.
Alpine processor and amp / Focal Utopia splits / Soundstream Exact sub

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 08, 2006 10:22 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 88

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks every1 for your help. At the end it was the remote wire from the head unit. The cable was fine, the amps were fine. I believe i may have accidently passed current back up through the remote wire and wrecked something in the head unit. So i have now connected it all back to the ignition wire and it works like it used to.
thanks again
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 12:03 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names