Fordmods Logo

Initial Charge of capacitor 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Initial Charge of capacitor
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 3:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey guys,

I got a capacitor and lost the instruction book. I remeber the process to charge it but am just making sure.

I got a resistor with the capacitor so i put that between the positive terminal of the battery and the positive of the capacitor. Then i earth the capacitor and watch the voltage reading go up on the digital screen. Till it stops.

Now while i do this, do i disconnect the battery from the car because i don't know if there is any chance of my ecu blowing up or some crap.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 4:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

oh come on somebody maust have put there own cap in their car

Sorry for the impatiene but i want this bloody thing done and i keep running into road blocks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 5:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

sounds about right to me, if your gonna test it first do it with the battery disconnected.

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 5:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

jose,

just confirming...you have done this before, and i am not testing it, i will be charging it or something that the guy said that needed to be done before use, otherwise it blows up or something.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 5:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

not with an audio cap, but with any other kind of capacitor you would charge it that way,

the resistor limits the amount of current that can be drawn by the capacitor, capacitor charges at a rate determined by the R* C charging constant (tau).

when you discharge (say by shorting the legs of the cap) you get a very short constant producing a BANG (and weld marks on whatever you shorted it with), if you do it with a resistor the constant is much longer not producing a bang

:) im a mechanical/electrical engineering student (a poor one, but hey)

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 5:54 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 330

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: BA XR6 turbo

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

well i have done a few but never taken the battery off just charge it and put together but dont take too long they tend to gis charge kinda quick so once the numbers on the cap are up take out the resister thingy and and connect power to cap happy trails

 

_________________

If you think life is bad. Imagine being a egg...you only get laid once, you only get smashed once and the only bird that sits on your face is your mum!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:48 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

Dmac you have it all rigt, cap inline with the positive and simply connect to your battery.

No need to disconnect it from the car.

Oh and yes i have done it a number of times before...

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 5:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

thanks guys, i did it, I also upgraded my system. I have an alpine 4 channel MRV F545, 12 type r - 2+2 ohm, and i got the cap and the type r splits. It is so loud now, i got a headache from just adjusting the gains and x-overs.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

sweet dude nice work

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:27 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

My most recent cap (a 2Farad) said it didn't need a resistor - nor did it come with one. I hooked it straight up - expecting a big spark, and maybe a blown fuse (60A). But no it was a nice rapid (a few seconds), but controlled charge.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tonytoner and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:03 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names