Fordmods Logo

Installing Alpine HU in EL 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Installing Alpine HU in EL
Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:26 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 373

Joined: 27th Jan 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Falcon EL

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

I just bought a Alpine cd player for my EL XR6 and would like to know which wire does what from the factory stereo loom. There seems to be a lot of confusion in these forums as to what wire does what and apparently the tech doco is wrong from what I have read, could someone post here the correct wiring info for a HU install on a EL falcon. I also bought one of those HU adapters from super s**t auto to aid in the install...

Thanks.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1079

Joined: 19th May 2005

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ELXR8 SERIES 2

Location: naracoorte
SA, Australia

dont those adaptors match the colours of the original loom?

 

_________________

EL XR8 SERIES 2, 5SPD, HOT CHILLI RED, 200 ODD RWKW OF V8 FUN AND GAMES

EF XR6, 5SPD, HERITAGE GREEN, AU XR6 VCT ENGINE

VL COMMODORE, 5SPD, WHITE

BA XT, AUTO, OFFSHORE BLUE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

yeah the one i had pretty much matched up colour wise, but yeah the tech doco is out, I ended up using my Gregory's manual.
Do you have a manual?

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 1:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Whats wrong with the tch doc?? I used it twice on 2 efs now and it has been right both times?

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 4:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

^^^ as above. i've used it on mine as well and worked no problems

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ive never used the doco but instead multi meters to find power and a 1.5volt battery to find speakers. This also works in every brand of car...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I've worked for a couple of car audio places in the past and thats pretty much how we did cars when we were not familiar with the wiring.

cept we used a logic probe just because it's more convenient than a multimeter.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:56 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names