Fordmods Logo

installing double DIN head unit in AU falcon 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: installing double DIN head unit in AU falcon
Posted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 4:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 9

Joined: 9th Aug 2009

Ride: AU falcon Futura

Location: wangaratta
VIC, Australia

Hey,
Just having a bit of an issue when trying to install a double din DVD head unit in my AU falcon, I got the original head unit out no worries (actually to be honest that was a pain in the a** lol), and I've got the unit connected and turning on, I just can't seem to be able to slide the unit into the dash, should there be any cutting of the dash necessary to install an aftermarket double DIN unit? and if so is it easily DIYable?. Thanks for anyone's help.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installing double DIN head unit in AU falcon
Posted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 6:43 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 399

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: '62 mercury/au xr6/zh 'lane

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Just try the bottom corners there is a bit of a thin piece of plastic coming out just get some sidecutters and nip that off see if it helps. Line the 2 units up together and make sure they are the same length into the dash because there is a big bar that goes accross behind the bottom slot that could most likely be your problem. Apart from that just make sure you dont have a heap of wires and plugs coming out the back of yours because there is very little space and it will just all hit on the rear of the dash, I had to cut about 10 RCA plugs off mine for it to fit.

 

_________________

How many bears could Bear Grylls grill if Bear Grylls could grill bears?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installing double DIN head unit in AU falcon
Posted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:03 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 9

Joined: 9th Aug 2009

Ride: AU falcon Futura

Location: wangaratta
VIC, Australia

yeh i think its the corners that are the problem, I just didn't want to cut them if i could avoid it, so if i do cut them, will I not be able to put the original head unit back in if I sell the car?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installing double DIN head unit in AU falcon
Posted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1434

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon EF Gli

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Sell the car with the head unit.

 

_________________

AsIzZy

My Build Thread:
post994940.html#p994940

For Sale Thread 1
forums/viewtopic.php?t=70845&highlight=

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installing double DIN head unit in AU falcon
Posted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:26 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 9

Joined: 9th Aug 2009

Ride: AU falcon Futura

Location: wangaratta
VIC, Australia

nah its a gud unit ill prob wana keep it, spose i can buy a cheap HU and put that in when i sell it, bugger it ill jst cut the dash, whats the worst that could happen lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installing double DIN head unit in AU falcon
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:45 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 159

Joined: 13th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Wagon/ 1967 XR

Location: Melb East
VIC, Australia

you dont have to cut anything how big is the the screen 7"?? when you take the old unit out there is the metal frame on both sides that used to house the old unit.
i drilled two brackets on the side pretty sure they came with my head unit and the whole thing just sits on there.
Can be a bit of a b**ch tho to line it up so that nothing hits when opening the face etc.
sorry i dont have a close up of what it looks like finished as am now changing the dash but see if this makes senseImage
Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installing double DIN head unit in AU falcon
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 8:49 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 2

Joined: 17th Sep 2009

Ride: au series 2

Location: launching place
VIC, Australia

i just got a 2 din head unit with a 7" LCD screen. i got the old unit out no worries and the new one fits straight into the hole. the only thing in the way is the frame around the screen cos the AU head unit has round corners and the new one has squarer corners but thats easy fixed. my prob is how do i hold the head unit in so it cant slide out. it came with 2 brackets like in the pics the other guy has put up but they dont seem to stop it coming out. any ideas people please??????
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installing double DIN head unit in AU falcon
Posted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 1:07 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 159

Joined: 13th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Wagon/ 1967 XR

Location: Melb East
VIC, Australia

may soundsound a bit dodgy but i put a sort of double sided tape cushion on the brackets it sat on and every other point it came close to metal
it hast moved since no rattles, sits perfectly and doesnt slide at all
Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: installing double DIN head unit in AU falcon
Posted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 5:41 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 2

Joined: 17th Sep 2009

Ride: au series 2

Location: launching place
VIC, Australia

sounds like a good idea. i was thinking about pulling the bit that surrounds the radio off then putting the unit in and then putting the surround back on to hold it in. will see if that works but if not might try your idea. yours looks good to. thanks mate
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:25 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names