Fordmods Logo

Installing Head Unit 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Installing Head Unit
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:18 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 195

Joined: 11th May 2008

Ride: ef xr6

Location: south east
VIC, Australia

anyone know where i can get a head unit installed in my ef done cheap?.. since i have no idea of how to do it.. ive rang a few places and they all want about $70 for it.. im in the rowville area in vic..cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 156

Joined: 2nd Nov 2005

Ride: EA Fairmont

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Hi There

I assume you already have the new headunit ??

Is it just a standard unit in the EF ( not premium ) ??

Is it just a straight out and in swap using the existing speakers ??
( No Amps, RCAs involved )

Do you have an AERPRO wiring harness adapter ( ~ $20 ) ??
This makes the swap quite easy. It plugs in between the factory harness
and the headunit connector.

If the $70 includes the adapter harness, then in my opinion its a fair price.

Also, if you get it done by a reputable company, you will get a warranty
in case the magic smoke escapes.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1434

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon EF Gli

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey, I think you would be alright doing it yourself to be honest, it's not a hard job. Can i ask what kind of HU are you gonna install. Also the wiring colour codes are in the Tech docu for EF's < That helped me a lot. :)

 

_________________

AsIzZy

My Build Thread:
post994940.html#p994940

For Sale Thread 1
forums/viewtopic.php?t=70845&highlight=

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1434

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon EF Gli

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

And get the adapter harness its a must. This way you don't chop your dash loom.

 

_________________

AsIzZy

My Build Thread:
post994940.html#p994940

For Sale Thread 1
forums/viewtopic.php?t=70845&highlight=

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:21 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 195

Joined: 11th May 2008

Ride: ef xr6

Location: south east
VIC, Australia

yea just got a jvc head unit and its all standard not premium sound. and it will be used for the existing speakers no subs or amps..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1434

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon EF Gli

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Its really up to you... You need to ask the guys if they are going to include the adapter or else the will be chopping the dash loom. And that price is a fair price to my knowledge. And they do give you warranty of some sort right? Then it is all good.

But i still say do it yourself. :)

 

_________________

AsIzZy

My Build Thread:
post994940.html#p994940

For Sale Thread 1
forums/viewtopic.php?t=70845&highlight=

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:11 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 195

Joined: 11th May 2008

Ride: ef xr6

Location: south east
VIC, Australia

well i just bought a wiring harness though aerpro on ebay and am gonna give it a stab my self.. can anyone give me a guide on how to do it like.. getting the old radio out etc... cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

You will need some security (torx) bits to remove the old HU for starters. Ive never used a harness and never had a problem. If it wasnt pissin down with rain this weekend i would say come over to my place and ill show you how its done using the factory brackets. If the weather clears up its all good. Im in Mulgrave so pretty close to you.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:50 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The harness just makes it alot neater and also a lot easier to revert to standard headunit IMO.

Make sure to disconnect the batteries negative terminal before starting to cut wires.

All you'll need is the instruction manual for your headunit with the wiring diagram, and also the pinout diagram for vehicles stereo plug.
Connect the right wires together (I prefer crimp terminals), tape any exposed terminals, and wallah.

Just make sure that you have the switched 12v and constant 12v round the right way (common mistake!), or else the headunit won't save any of your settings.
Also before putting the headunit in and putting the stereo surround back on, check everything works, all the speakers/antenna etc. etc.

You will have to adapt the factory brackets to the side of your new headunit, this usually requires you drilling some holes in the factory brackets to line up with the holes in your new head unit.

Also I am unsure on JVC headunits, but if there is no switched "antenna" output from the headunit, you may have to connect the antenna line to switched 12v, so the antenna will come up with your HU.
Or if you never listen to the radio, leave it disconnected and your arial will never come up :)

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
Make sure to disconnect the batteries negative terminal before starting to cut wires.


That only counts if you cut all the wires at once! ive only ever disconnected the battery terminal when installing amps.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 7:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1434

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon EF Gli

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

joolz wrote:
Steady ED wrote:
Make sure to disconnect the batteries negative terminal before starting to cut wires.


That only counts if you cut all the wires at once! ive only ever disconnected the battery terminal when installing amps.


Doesn't hurt to be on the safe side.

 

_________________

AsIzZy

My Build Thread:
post994940.html#p994940

For Sale Thread 1
forums/viewtopic.php?t=70845&highlight=

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

asizzy wrote:
joolz wrote:
Steady ED wrote:
Make sure to disconnect the batteries negative terminal before starting to cut wires.


That only counts if you cut all the wires at once! ive only ever disconnected the battery terminal when installing amps.


Doesn't hurt to be on the safe side.


Safe side or if you dont know what your doing. Have installed car audio systems over the past 15+ years. Dont have time to be removing a terminal especially on the E series where the KAM will be lost and the owner will complain about it running wierd.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 8:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1434

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon EF Gli

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

joolz wrote:
asizzy wrote:
joolz wrote:
Steady ED wrote:
Make sure to disconnect the batteries negative terminal before starting to cut wires.


That only counts if you cut all the wires at once! ive only ever disconnected the battery terminal when installing amps.


Doesn't hurt to be on the safe side.


Safe side or if you dont know what your doing.


Yep, that will be like how everyone starts off.

 

_________________

AsIzZy

My Build Thread:
post994940.html#p994940

For Sale Thread 1
forums/viewtopic.php?t=70845&highlight=

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

asizzy wrote:
joolz wrote:
asizzy wrote:
joolz wrote:
Steady ED wrote:
Make sure to disconnect the batteries negative terminal before starting to cut wires.


That only counts if you cut all the wires at once! ive only ever disconnected the battery terminal when installing amps.


Doesn't hurt to be on the safe side.


Safe side or if you dont know what your doing.


Yep, that will be like how everyone starts off.


So how with multi meters or a test light are you to find the ACC and 12V BATT with it disconnected if you dont have the luxury of a vehicle wiring diagram which in most cased you dont. Also a 1.5 volt battery is your best mate finding speakers and their polarity.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1434

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon EF Gli

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I use the AA batteries to find the speakers as well. It is very handy in finding which wires is for which speakers.

Yeah, what you say about the ACC and 12V with the battery is correct, but ain't most you can easily judge the 12v power and ACC.

 

_________________

AsIzZy

My Build Thread:
post994940.html#p994940

For Sale Thread 1
forums/viewtopic.php?t=70845&highlight=

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:26 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names