Fordmods Logo

Installing Sub in BA sedan 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Installing Sub in BA sedan
Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:56 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 2

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: EF falcon wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Just wondering if anyone has any experience with installing a sub into a BA. Apparantly its a b**ch to connect the RCA's Can anyone shed some light???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:16 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 330

Joined: 19th May 2006

Ride: BA Futura

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

yeah there is no RCA output on the BA. What you need to do is use the signal from the rear speakers and run it through an level converter to convert it to an RCA, they are about $50 or so I think. My amp already has a high level input so I didnt need to use one.

 

_________________

For Show: 18" Kaotic Shadow Chrome, King SL, Cadence Amp, Kenwood 12" Sub, JL Audio 5x7's

For Go: SVI LPG, K&N Filter, F6 CAI, XR6T snorkle, XR8 catback, Magnaflow metal cat, Pacemaker headers, Underdrive, Thermostat, Custom tune, DBA4000

175.6 rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:43 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1

Joined: 6th Dec 2006

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

King Nothing wrote:
yeah there is no RCA output on the BA. What you need to do is use the signal from the rear speakers and run it through an level converter to convert it to an RCA, they are about $50 or so I think. My amp already has a high level input so I didnt need to use one.
Gidday, I.ve got the same prob.Can I use the rear l+r speaker outputs and connect them to my amp using hi level inputs and output that to a sub and larger/better rear speakers e.g 6x9 etc...? 8-)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 184

Joined: 11th Jul 2006

Ride: BA XR8 Sedan or a potato gun

Location: Yeppoon/Rockhampton Central QLD
QLD, Australia

Or you could cheat and buy a secondary head unit and get someone else to worry about it... Headunit, amp and sub wired up for $70. Better than having the headache of trying to do it yourself I reckon...

 

_________________

Sadly "X-RATED" has been sold to my brother - no longer do I own my XT - but its a brief sadness!! I now have an XR8 and permanent boner - SCHWING!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 9:50 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 110

Posts: 379

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Predator

Location: HERVEY BAY
QLD, Australia

wheres the satisfaction from knowing you did it yourself?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:21 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 184

Joined: 11th Jul 2006

Ride: BA XR8 Sedan or a potato gun

Location: Yeppoon/Rockhampton Central QLD
QLD, Australia

Dude - wasn't for a lack of trying - I can do basic wiring, but the wiring under the ICC in the BA is a headache for someone who isn't an auto electrician - as it was for me... So after friggin around with it for a weekend, and not wanting to stuff anything up cause I needed the car to be running, I booked it in and got it done....

 

_________________

Sadly "X-RATED" has been sold to my brother - no longer do I own my XT - but its a brief sadness!! I now have an XR8 and permanent boner - SCHWING!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 1:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

davro_xr6 wrote:
Dude - wasn't for a lack of trying - I can do basic wiring, but the wiring under the ICC in the BA is a headache for someone who isn't an auto electrician - as it was for me... So after friggin around with it for a weekend, and not wanting to stuff anything up cause I needed the car to be running, I booked it in and got it done....


Yeh these days with all the electronics particulary fords ICC it is just easier to get guys in the know with the right tools to get it done right the first time and a good job done for a lil cash and no headaches for the owner....in and out in a few hrs.

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:11 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 330

Joined: 19th May 2006

Ride: BA Futura

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

XRSiC wrote:
King Nothing wrote:
yeah there is no RCA output on the BA. What you need to do is use the signal from the rear speakers and run it through an level converter to convert it to an RCA, they are about $50 or so I think. My amp already has a high level input so I didnt need to use one.
Gidday, I.ve got the same prob.Can I use the rear l+r speaker outputs and connect them to my amp using hi level inputs and output that to a sub and larger/better rear speakers e.g 6x9 etc...? 8-)


Yep, sure can. Thats how my system is set up. Mines currently using the rear speaker output to amp the sub and rears, but I want to change that so im using the front signal to amp front and sub

 

_________________

For Show: 18" Kaotic Shadow Chrome, King SL, Cadence Amp, Kenwood 12" Sub, JL Audio 5x7's

For Go: SVI LPG, K&N Filter, F6 CAI, XR6T snorkle, XR8 catback, Magnaflow metal cat, Pacemaker headers, Underdrive, Thermostat, Custom tune, DBA4000

175.6 rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 2:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 596

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: BA mkII XR8

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

theres s**t of room inside the dash once the head unit is removed, and its pretty easy to hook up to the front speaker wires thru a line convertor... BUT dont use a cheapy, and be sure to fit a noise filter inline with the B+ wire.
I am currently running two 12" subs, one JL 13" and a free air 8" in the parcel shelf, I am still using the head unit for the 5x7" speakers in the front & rear, but have upgraded the speakers to JL 5x7's & have no problems with distortion at very high volume (even with the power limiter OFF)
only probs are with the rear view mirror falling down & rattling

 

_________________

Image
IF YOU HAVE IT UNDER CONTROL
YOU SIMPLY DON'T HAVE ENOUGH POWER!!!
Detroit 8V71 for sale, taking offers

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:19 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 4

Joined: 19th Dec 2006

Ride: ba xr6 ute

Location: dunsborough
WA, Australia

asl logistics do a sub wiring kit dont know too much about it but visit there web site might help
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:50 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names