Fordmods Logo

Mounting points front splits bf ? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 10:15 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 7

Joined: 22nd Jun 2010

Ride: 06 BF F6 Typhoon

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

Hey guys new here just wondering the best spot ppl have found for the crossover when installing splits in a ba/bf model
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 3:21 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Above the passengers left foot, under the dash, there is a massive empty spot there.

Could easily fit 10 cross overs if you wanted. I've double sided taped mine there.

Or there is a ton of room over the drivers left foot, behind the plastic bits of the dash.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 3:57 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 7

Joined: 22nd Jun 2010

Ride: 06 BF F6 Typhoon

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

ah thankyou so much, one more question can ya run anything through that grommet thing that goes from cabin to the door or is it a big clip i cant work it out lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:20 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

You can. It is the biggest C*** of a job you will ever find, but its doable. I was tempted to take the doors off to make it easier.

If you have access to a 10yo kid with small hands, it is advisable to use him. If not, go abduct one! I s**t you not.

Anyways, that square plug is just clipped on the pillar. If you press down at the 12 and 6 o'clock position on the plug, it will release the clips and the thing will pop off. Then you'll need to remove the loom from the door (so unplug it from everything), pull out the grommet from the door and pull the entire loom out.

Then you can pull the loom from the A-pillar and you'll eventually get to a plug that comes out the pillar. So you can disconnect it. When you look at that black plug, you'll see gaps you can feed speaker wire through then force it through the rubber grommet into the door side.

Then just put it all back in as you took it out.

The B-series have alike a double skinned A pillar. There is a 10mm gap between skins, so running a cable through any other area I found is nearly impossible.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:31 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 7

Joined: 22nd Jun 2010

Ride: 06 BF F6 Typhoon

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

thanks for the help much appreciated
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:33 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Good luck and god bless. :mrgreen:

Getting the loom out and apart is pretty easy. Its putting it back together and getting the grommet in the door properly is the hassle.

So be patient and don't kick the car like I did. :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 1110

Joined: 25th Mar 2007

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: BA MKII Fairlane GHIA

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

running wires through the door grommet on a ba/bf falcon is like making a three layered sandwich.
as for the cross-over there is a solid piece of foam in the door that can be cut so you can fit the cross-over box in there
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:41 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 7

Joined: 22nd Jun 2010

Ride: 06 BF F6 Typhoon

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

not wrong about the 10y.o hands god damn
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:43 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 7

Joined: 22nd Jun 2010

Ride: 06 BF F6 Typhoon

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

i just wanna hear my damn focal's lol if i didnt have a habit of not trustin anyone workin on my car would of been so much less hassle lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:45 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 7

Joined: 22nd Jun 2010

Ride: 06 BF F6 Typhoon

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

hmm thats what i left out the hi-low converter that best done behind icc or extend wires ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:49 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

If your going to the trouble of running new wires and pulling the door grommets, just buy terminals and plug them into the exisiting speaker plugs in the doors and run the wires back into the cabin.

Or you can cut the wires that run into the door and tap in there.

You can't get to the plug behind the ICC, nor is there room to store anything behind it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 5:02 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Your other choice is this, and what I did to my s**t:

http://www.asllogistics.com/catalog/Add-an-Amplifier-using-Low-Level-Output-p-28.html

These guys put a 4 or 5 channel low level output thingy onto your ICC. Being you have a Typhoon, it would be 5 channel, so you'd get the mono sub channel too.

Plus you get a proper amp trigger. Something you wont get with the factory setup.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 6:42 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 7

Joined: 22nd Jun 2010

Ride: 06 BF F6 Typhoon

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

Thanks for all the help. dont think i could get better info :) what kinda turnaround is the upgrade thing ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounting points front splits bf ?
Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:25 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

I took mine in to them and it was done in an hour or so.

I think they have some sort of overnight service. So send today and get back Thursday.

But I believe you can still run the car without the ICC. Need to plug in the BEM to make car work, just wont have any climate or audio.

You'll see when you pull the ICC out, everything separates. Its many pieces screwed to a plastic front.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:43 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names