Fordmods Logo

MP3 Input without stacker.. in an EF 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: MP3 Input without stacker.. in an EF
Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 3:34 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 24

Joined: 25th Aug 2007

Ride: Escort RS2000 and EF Falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

Has anyone worked out how to put an MP3 input into the EF headunit without a stacker?

What I'd like to do is have it so you switch to CD mode and the auxillary input becomes live and I can plug in my IPOD. Now the trick is going to be fooling the stereo into thinking it has a stacker attached up, presumably this is done by one of the wires in the lead to the stacker, but does anyone know what signal it is looking for to indicate that the stacker is attached? I would asume its something simple, like a constant 12V or 5V but thought someone might know for sure?

cheers
andrew
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:45 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

u have ipod
get i trip! simple cheap and EASY

or get aftermarket HU

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 3:37 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 24

Joined: 25th Aug 2007

Ride: Escort RS2000 and EF Falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

Sure an iTrip is an option, but I personally don't like them. I don't find they work all that well.. A dedicated input would work much better and seeing as the head unit already has one I thought it wouldn't be too hard to add.

The only problem is fooling the head unit into thinking the iPod is a stacker. The rest of it is in a tutorial on this site, and is simple, just wire in a plug.


andrew
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 7:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

A guy on the Diyaudio forums is working on this at the moment trying to get an aux into an Alpine M-bus head unit so if he gets it working then you will be able to as well...

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthre ... did=104239

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:49 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

sounds like to much effort to me
Seen 3 diff itrips in 3 diff cars and work fine to me unless u go for sound qual then u would not be using mp3...

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 11:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I have an iTrip and I must admit I wouldn't use it full time as they aren't that great, good for rental cars etc but that is about it....
Plus decent bit rate mp3's are far better than fm radio which is what iTrips are essentially!!

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:08 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names