Fordmods Logo

My System - Work In Progress 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 36 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: My System - Work In Progress
Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:41 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 296

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA II Fairmont Ghia S

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Here is the start of my stereo system re-vamp.

I originally had a single 12" in a sealed box.

I decided to do a slight upgrade and bought 2x15" subs.

I still have my 15" Flat panel Display which is currently having a mounting board made up to fit the bootlid, with appropriate sound deadning and i will be installing a new DVD player and 7" widescreen TV in the centre console.

The whole lot will be covered in black carpet and there is a false floor going in so i have somewhere to put my tools.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:45 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 296

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA II Fairmont Ghia S

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Here is the unfinished sub box

 

 

Attachments:
Sub install 1.jpg
Sub install 1.jpg [ 39.3 KiB | Viewed 25 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:46 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 296

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA II Fairmont Ghia S

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Here is the amplifier install

 

 

Attachments:
Amplifier Install.jpg
Amplifier Install.jpg [ 35.01 KiB | Viewed 29 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:46 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 296

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA II Fairmont Ghia S

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

here is the boot lid without monitor

 

 

Attachments:
Bootlid.jpg
Bootlid.jpg [ 43.06 KiB | Viewed 17 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:53 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 296

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA II Fairmont Ghia S

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

The 15'' Display that will be mounted to the bootlid

 

 

Attachments:
Flat Panel.jpg
Flat Panel.jpg [ 23.3 KiB | Viewed 18 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 10:06 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

Single 12" upgraded to 2 x 15"s.

Thats a fair upgrade...

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:27 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 296

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA II Fairmont Ghia S

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Yeah but It's Only the beggining.

The way the box is now - isn't how it is going to stay.

There is just an issue with secuirng the box so that it aligns with the parcel shelf.

Basically. its going to be flipped.
So the subs face down and i have the majority my boot back. Just designing a brace system between my rear shock towers and parcel shelf brace to stiffen the rear end dramatically.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 12:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1380

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA GT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

im unsure how i should make my box for my 15inch sub !! no idea!! :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 12:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

That's screens gunna be cool as!

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 11:28 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 296

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA II Fairmont Ghia S

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Kermey, if you have all the specs then take a look at this thread

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopi ... ght=winisd

and go down to henrymoore's post

WinISD Pro helped me to design the subbox for my to 15's.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

how the hell do you mount it against the side of the boot? (the amp)

i'm trying to do it atm and i'm really struggling.. so far i have 2 strips of 1" angle aluminium running across the gap but struggling to get the amp bolted there.

sucks :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:40 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 296

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA II Fairmont Ghia S

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

glenneaux - I basically did what you are doing, but i used the bracing across the gap to attach a piece of MDF that i had cut to the shape of the side of the boot.

Then attached the Amplifier to that.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

ahh clever.

I just went with aluminium because theres a boatload of it in the shed back home.

Might have to investigate what you did, but will have to wait till the weekend.

That and the amp i was gonna bolt there doesn't seem to wanna work any more..

us audio 4 channel "900watt" (yeah right) .. got it off ebay for $86, had a crook channel, got that fixed.. now it doesnt seem to work..

thing is i have a 5 channel us audio (1100 watt (lol)) that works fine with exact same connections so gotta take it to get looked at again F**k.

But yeah thanks, started to get really s**t because i started drilling holes and s**t in my car and i want the stuff to work as planned or else it was kind of a waste.


grr..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:47 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 296

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA II Fairmont Ghia S

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Yeah, Drilling Holes and finding out the s**t don't work has got to suck.

As i have said above. Trying to rig my sub box up to (existing) hole in the body as i don't want to cut metal.

Then Only places i have drilled is when i made the bracket for the MDF for my amp.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 8:07 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 22

Joined: 12th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Country
NSW, Australia

This should look really good when you get it all finished mate. Be sure to put the finished product on show for us to have a look at!! Keep up the good work :)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:18 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names