Fordmods Logo

New Amp - Upgrade Power etc. Question 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: New Amp - Upgrade Power etc. Question
Posted: Sat May 28, 2005 2:53 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 16

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Currently i have a kenwood 200watt amp powering a 12inch clarion and i am upgrading to a pioneer 1000watt mono block ($379 on ebay).

My question is will i need to change the power wire and fuse to power the new amp effectively? My old amp was installed professionally and i know that it is a 30A fuse but not sure what guage the power wire is.

Also while i am at it, if i install the old amp later on to power the fronts, will the battery and alternator be up to the task?

Thanks guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 28, 2005 9:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2351

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: Blown XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah probably.
You would want to run a 4 Gauge power cable, that would pretty much cover it. If you were going to use the old amp the run your front speakers, then leave it connected to do exactly that.

I'm not 100% sure about the battery and alternator, i'm pretty sure the alternator would be fine, the battery would depend on what condition and how old it is atm. If you run the stereo cranked up and the car off, then the battery wont last long.
However i've only got a $100 Century battery, and i've got 750RMS running out of the Amp, and a 150watt invertor, and i have had that running with the car off for a fair while, watched movies whilst camping and so on, a few times, and it seems fine. Could be good luck....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 28, 2005 9:53 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 126

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Location: Gosford
NSW, Australia

Hi mate, I have the amp that you are getting, and im running 4 gauge cable with a 60 amp fuse. I used to be running 8 gauge, but this was causing the headlights to dim with the bass, and an upgrade to 4 gauge solved this.

Cheers,

GazzaED
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 28, 2005 10:10 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 16

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Thanks for the replies,
Yeah i'll just leave the old amp there for now and i'll install the new amp in a different spot and add a new cables. The battery is only around 7 months old so that should be alright then.

Edit: What do u think of the amp? Such a good price with retail of around 600
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:16 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names