Fordmods Logo

New circuit breaker + voltmeter not working... Faulty? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: New circuit breaker + voltmeter not working... Faulty?
Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I just bought two circuit breakers from Jaycar. One is a simple 0g in - 0g out 120A inline breaker. The other is a distribution block 4g in - 2x8g out twin 60A breaker.

Both breakers have voltmeters built into them.

I have two problems. Firstly, the 120A breaker isn't tripping. As in, when it's off there's still power flowing... I'm assuming that's just a faulty unit...

My second problem is the fact that both voltmeters aren't working. The 2x60A one is tripping out and working in that respect but the voltmeter isn't lighting up. Wouldn't the voltmeter need a negative wire in order to work? As neither of them have one.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: New circuit breaker + voltmeter not working... Faulty?
Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:16 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

MoNGooSE wrote:
I just bought two circuit breakers from Jaycar. One is a simple 0g in - 0g out 120A inline breaker. The other is a distribution block 4g in - 2x8g out twin 60A breaker.

Both breakers have voltmeters built into them.

I have two problems. Firstly, the 120A breaker isn't tripping. As in, when it's off there's still power flowing... I'm assuming that's just a faulty unit...

My second problem is the fact that both voltmeters aren't working. The 2x60A one is tripping out and working in that respect but the voltmeter isn't lighting up. Wouldn't the voltmeter need a negative wire in order to work? As neither of them have one.


Yes both meters should have a negative wire/outlet so that you can earth it for them to work.

If there is a screw or small bolt somewhere which might remotely look like it is connected to the meter, then try and earth that bolt/screw. It might just work.

With the 120A breaker not tripping, you might want to send that back to JayCar and getting them to have a look at it.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 9:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 775

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XT Series 2

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

They do not necessarily need an earth the look at the wire coming out asthe earth goingto the next component in line. I f you understand what I mean.

 

_________________

Stage 1 stereo install done. Pics in audio section.
Next step is probably a nice exhaust or stage 2 stereo.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

EFfalconsrule wrote:
They do not necessarily need an earth the look at the wire coming out asthe earth goingto the next component in line. I f you understand what I mean.


Might understand better if you used spaces and grammar, but anyway, you definitely need an earth for the voltmeter.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 11:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

They are probably designed to be screwed into the chassis somewhere, so that they get ground. you might just have to run a wire.

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 12:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

double post... whoops :oops:

Last edited by MoNGooSE on Sun Jan 20, 2008 12:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 12:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Nigel wrote:
They are probably designed to be screwed into the chassis somewhere, so that they get ground. you might just have to run a wire.

Nigel


Exactly what I thought...

I pulled the working breaker to pieces and there are two wires coming out of the back of the digital display on the voltmeter. One is red and goes to the switch and the other is black and follows down to the base where one of the screw holes is metallic. So basically this needs to be screwed into the metal body in order to work. otherwise you need to run a separate wire from the screw hole.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:33 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

One of the four screw holes is actually the earth, it's pretty obvious which one it is, cause it's surrounded by metal, the other three aren't.

Make sure it's screwed into something metal and earthed, or fabricate up a thin bit of wire (it's only doing a few mA, so you don't need 4GA) into the hole, and earth it.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:36 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Yeh... When I actually looked I found it. Is this going to drain my battery as it will always be on won't it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 7:19 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

MoNGooSE wrote:
Yeh... When I actually looked I found it. Is this going to drain my battery as it will always be on won't it?


Yes it does use a bit of battery juice, but you won't even notice it. If you want you can always use the same ground cable for both meters (in series) and use a switch to switch it on and off. I have had mine in since last year and I haven't noticed any difference. Shouldn't be of any hassle unless your battery is dead, or it isn't being charged by alternator.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Battery is dead :( But not to worry. The old man is a rep. for a battery company here.

I'm taking both breakers back as the casing on the working one is cracked all the way around. Pretty dodge quality all round really.

I'll exchange the 2x60A one for the rear and just get a nice fat 0g fuse holder for the front. I should be able to wire up the voltmeter on the 2x60A breaker so it comes on with the amps using the remote wire signal.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 6:05 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

They turn off, after a few mins if there's no change in voltage. They draw bugger all anyway.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Thanks mate. Good to know.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:51 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names