Fordmods Logo

new deck in ba quick answer 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: new deck in ba quick answer
Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:10 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 24

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Location: perth
WA, Australia

hey guys need a realy quick response

i just bought a new deck to put in tisue box holder in my ba i have power acc and ground all sorted but in the deck it has illumination cable aswell ... is this for just if i want to dim it or is it not needed ... thanx dd
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 1028

Joined: 13th Jul 2006

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

It is for if you want the buttons to light up when you turn the headlights on I think. It's just a ground signal, so you can connect it to have them constantly on.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:03 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Not really needed. I don't use the one on my deck. (BF GT-P with a Pioneer AVH-P7650DVD)

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:28 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 24

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Location: perth
WA, Australia

ok thanx alot ill just hook it up and see wat happens thanx guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:10 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 391

Joined: 24th Jul 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Location: melb
VIC, Australia

like is it that easy to install a new deck in da tisue box holder ? in a ba? like i should do it myself but not game to touch it :( god damm it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:25 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 315

Joined: 7th Oct 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

so the headlight dimmer switch is a ground not a positive signal ?

 

_________________

84 XF Falcon S Pak, 250 crossflow (rebuilt ~5000km ago, carby model), Bored out 30 thou, Crow racing cam, extractors, yokohama 245's all the way round, chrome 12 slotters, lowered, 4spd man, open wheeler (blew my lsd...), Thumping sound system, L.E.D's everywhere

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 1028

Joined: 13th Jul 2006

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Oh, no there is a positive line, it is about 5V I think, the negative line just controls the on/off.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:17 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

daboris wrote:
like is it that easy to install a new deck in da tisue box holder ? in a ba? like i should do it myself but not game to touch it :( god damm it


It'll need the bottom cut out of it, and the space behind it is very cramped, but it's definately do-able.

BTW: a spare tissue box holder is ~$80 from Ford Spares.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 9:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 728

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: ba falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

you just take the tissue box holder out.. theres heaps of room and its extremely easy.. i just screwed my head units frame directly onto the bottom of the console (checked for wiring of course) oh it is a little tricky screwing the screws in coz theres not alot of room underneath.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:30 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 391

Joined: 24th Jul 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Location: melb
VIC, Australia

some one should make a video on how to do this type of stuff i think it be cool u see a video of someone install a deck in a ba and then u can read the note's
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 728

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: ba falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

yer i was thinking of doing one but considering i cant be bothered doing a good job of it atm i didnt. it isnt realy too hard i dunno if a doco is neccesary but i will leave it to somone whos gonna do a better job of it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:24 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

It really isn't that hard to do. Time consuming yes, fiddly at times yes. But hard, no. If you've done a stereo in any other Falcon, it's much the same.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:17 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 243

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

there is a tutorial already for adding an aftermarket headunit to a BA using the tissue box holder
http://www.caraudioaustralia.com/forums ... opic=68978

the dimmer lead is so the display dims when you turn your car lights on, i wouldn't be without it, my apline is very bright without it
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:46 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names