Fordmods Logo

New Heavy Rockford Boot Install! 

 

Page 6 of 6 [ 89 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 9:37 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 96

Joined: 18th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

haha its pretty hard to stick to one project at a time, i've done pretty much nothen to the car but i'm planning soo much soo soon..
prob should ease up a bit..

How much is it going to set u back to paint/fit the kit??
I think it will loook mad as!!

 

_________________

Connors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 9:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Well I'm fitting it myself. I fitted my last kit myself (even though it had warped over time and was cut wrong so I took it off straight away :P)
And I reckon I'll paint it myself. Uncle's got a mad as shed the size of my house which he paints in. I'll do a sideskirt and see what it looks like then decided whether to do the whole kit myself or pay someone s**t to do it for me. So hopefully it'll only cost me the paint, around $300. Although I need to get my bonnet and bootlid resprayed along with a few little imperfections in my pain fixed up. So I'm probably going to be up for around a grand in the end. We'll see... So much money that I don't have... :(:(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 9:54 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 96

Joined: 18th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

f**k that hurts!!
i got a mate doing a panel beating apprentiship thingy

He said he can repaint my car for me at his work, can hire out the spray room free n s**t and just pay for the paint which he reckons he can get cheap

He's painting his commy in next month, think i'll wait to see how his turns out be4 i repaint mine lol

back on topic, does anyone know with Caps, if anythen metal or anythen happen to roll onto where the wires n s**t go in the top/bottom, (bottom of mine cos thats how its going to be mounted) Wont that make it go boom???

 

_________________

Connors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:14 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Timmy Connors wrote:
f**k that hurts!!
i got a mate doing a panel beating apprentiship thingy

He said he can repaint my car for me at his work, can hire out the spray room free n s**t and just pay for the paint which he reckons he can get cheap

He's painting his commy in next month, think i'll wait to see how his turns out be4 i repaint mine lol

back on topic, does anyone know with Caps, if anythen metal or anythen happen to roll onto where the wires n s**t go in the top/bottom, (bottom of mine cos thats how its going to be mounted) Wont that make it go boom???


tbh i don't know...but anything metal touching where it isn't meant to with high ampage is never good. So i suggest you somehow have a rubber cover over the terminals so that metal objects such as a screwdriver can't short the cap...if you short the cap, the cap may start to leak...not sure about exploding though :S. but i could be wrong there.

BTW that's one massive amp :shock:

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:23 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 96

Joined: 18th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

haha thanks mate!!

I shall deffinently cover it

I read that it'd leak s**t.... sounds like it just tries to gross u out so u gotta chuck it out... :roll:

To join the 0 gauge from the battery and one to the amp, some1 said best way is to solder them together..? that the best way??

I have no idea when it comes to wireing

 

_________________

Connors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:39 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Timmy Connors wrote:
To join the 0 gauge from the battery and one to the amp, some1 said best way is to solder them together..? that the best way??


Yeah...soldering 2 wires together is the best way so long as you solder it properly. By soldering you are creating a stronger connection rather then having one of those connectors which you crimp to keep the wires together.

Before you solder the two wires end on end together, try to roughen up the wires a bit so that the ends are like random and have gaps in them. Best way is to untwist the wire so there are heaps of individual wires poking randomly and flare out. Do this to both ends and then put the 2 ends of each wire together so that the random wires fill in the gaps on each others cable. That way the individual wires intertwine causing a better connection. Once you have done that, solder the wires together making sure some of the solder seeps through the intertwined wires.

good luck with it =D not hard to do once you get used to it.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:43 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 169

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: ef falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

hey mate nice looking setup rekon you could send measurements of the box this way?? as im looking at putting 2 rockford 12's in the back of mine...

 

_________________

stage2cam,lukeyheaders,highflowcat2 1/2, 2 1/2 exhaust 3 hotdogs, 17x235/45 17x255/40's

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:46 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 96

Joined: 18th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Thanks heaps mate!!

So this join is ok??
Yes good 2 second paint job :?

 

 

Attachments:
solder.JPG
solder.JPG [ 26.02 KiB | Viewed 54 times ]

 

_________________

Connors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

doesnt it go from battery to cap then to amp, doing it that way wont do anything

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:55 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 96

Joined: 18th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

haha f**k
now i've forgotten....

Anyone draw me a lil digram?? the instructions are in the car and i cant be f**k goen out in the rain...
f**k loven the rain but :lol:

 

_________________

Connors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

battery + goes to the + on the cap, the - on the cap goes to + on amp from what im aware of

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:58 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 96

Joined: 18th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

nahh - from cap goes to groun..

goes plus from batt to plus to cap then plus to amp.... or sumthen

 

_________________

Connors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 11:44 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 169

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: ef falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

yer not now just in the next few day when u remember would be good

 

_________________

stage2cam,lukeyheaders,highflowcat2 1/2, 2 1/2 exhaust 3 hotdogs, 17x235/45 17x255/40's

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 11:48 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 96

Joined: 18th Feb 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

I sent a PM???

anyways here it is lol

 

 

Attachments:
box size.JPG
box size.JPG [ 23.05 KiB | Viewed 52 times ]

 

_________________

Connors

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 6 of 6  [ 89 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:28 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names