Fordmods Logo

No earth on wiring harness i bought?? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: No earth on wiring harness i bought??
Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 11:19 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 59

Joined: 5th Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Ipswich
QLD, Australia

Hey all, im replacing the stockunit in my ef gli wagon with a pioneer deh-p4650mp, just a basic mp3 capable headunit. Now I bought the harness as recommended in a number of threads, and have soldered it all up and it seems to work fine, but im left with a black wire coming from my headunit (which i assume is the ground) and an orange wire on the harness marked "dash light illumination". Now i assume this is for lowering the brightness of the headunit at night, but i dont think mine has that function.

Anyway why hasnt my harness got a spot for the stereo earth? Surely this is an important wire? Ive hooked it all up and it seems to run fine without it, but i dont want to damage anything! Is it a pecluiarity to ef falcons or what?

Thanks for your help guys!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:22 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

there should be a wire for the earth

if u have a gregorys manual have a look at the wire colours and double check

the "dash light illumination " si for the decks lighting im am sure it has this feature!

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

ffs hook up the earth regardless of wether there's a wire in the harness you bought or not

if all else fails, crimp a ring terminal onto it and find a screw in the dash that is earthed

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Disco Frank wrote:
if u have a gregorys manual have a look at the wire colours and double check


or just look in the doco on this site.

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 2:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

by harness do you mean those adapter things?

i dont think the ef earths back onto this adapter, i think there is a seperate wire behind the dash for earth not on the plug?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:16 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

either way like interceptor said !!

use an earth!!!

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 2:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

how would it be working if there was no earth though? where would it be earthing? through the case?

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 2:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

Leroy wrote:
how would it be working if there was no earth though? where would it be earthing? through the case?
yup, or through the RCA's if he's using them..... either way is a bad idea (especially the RCA's)

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: No earth on wiring harness i bought??
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

dsjoyce wrote:
Hey all, im replacing the stockunit in my ef gli wagon with a pioneer deh-p4650mp, just a basic mp3 capable headunit. Now I bought the harness as recommended in a number of threads, and have soldered it all up and it seems to work fine, but im left with a black wire coming from my headunit (which i assume is the ground) and an orange wire on the harness marked "dash light illumination". Now i assume this is for lowering the brightness of the headunit at night, but i dont think mine has that function.

Anyway why hasnt my harness got a spot for the stereo earth? Surely this is an important wire? Ive hooked it all up and it seems to run fine without it, but i dont want to damage anything! Is it a pecluiarity to ef falcons or what?

Thanks for your help guys!


Thats because the earth on the EF-ELs is seperate to the 2 main plugs. Those wiring kits only provide for the main plugs. You will find the earth as a black lead with a small connector on it.

Yes "dash light illumination" is exactly as you thought, however the HU must support it. If there is no illumination wire from the HU then it doesn't.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 11:49 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 59

Joined: 5th Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Ipswich
QLD, Australia

Thanks guys, as was mentioned above there was a separate earth stuffed right up the back i forgot about :oops:

Now all ive got to do is beat the crap out of the stock headunit guides so they flatten up enough to fit on the sides of the pioneer headunit. Hehe it never ends!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 11:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i said f**k it, only used 1 bracked and gaffa taped it good ;)

the head unit is only woth about 50 bucks anyway, if that. its a good year or 2 old, not even mp3 compatible

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

lol gaffa tape. i wish i though of that before i broke a drill bit and almost lost my eyes. that was after gravity was holding it in for over a year

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:54 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 215

Joined: 1st May 2005

Location: VB country
VIC, Australia

i just done this exact same thing for a mate a week ago also with a pioneer unit. Just file back the two screw countersinks on the bracket to halfway cos the pioneer unit is slightly thinner than the stocky. Also need to drill some extra holes.
Hey i not sure if its been mentioned but the earthwire is a seperate plug of the stock unit not part of the the 8 and 12 pin harness which you should always make sure is connected and attach firstly otherwise ya can f**k up s**t. The illum wire is orange/white on the pioneers and that should be connected to pin 8 of the 12 pin harness (thinks its a brown wire of the stock unit)...just under the 12V+ wire (green/yellow).
hope this helps champ
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:55 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names