Fordmods Logo

NOOB question that I just have to ask about monoblocks 

Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: NOOB question that I just have to ask about monoblocks
Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: SZ Titanium & ZG Fairlane

SA, Australia

Ok this is a question that has been annoying me for a while now and I haven't asked it as yet as it is a total noob question. I have been wondering it again lately as I have just bought some new subs for my car. Basically I want to know why if I have two subs do I just get one monoblock amp to run them both off of when you also have a left and a right sub rca output on the head unit. Do the monoblock amps still take both channels from the head unit or is there only one rca input? Wouldn't it be better to have two monoblocks (one per channel) so that it stays stereo? I know that low frequencies are less directional so I am guessing that possibly you wouldn't tell the difference between two stereo subs with separate amps and two subs with the two channels combined on one amp. For example if you have a bass kick which changes from left to right channels in quick succession would it be a noticable difference?

Basically would there be a positive in having two amps (one per sub) or would it be far outweighed by the cost factor or would there be no difference whatsoever?

F6 Rspec #139 - Stock Car Racing

Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII Ghia

most bass beats are in mono and bass is really hard to tell where its coming from, in a car you would be to difficult to notice bass fading left and right you would have to sit between them, from my knowledge they fade the mid bass from left to right in music to give you the feel that the bass fading across, others may be able to correct what i have got wrong,