Fordmods Logo

Power Antenna Signal Wire 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Power Antenna Signal Wire
Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

heyy

what voltage/signal is needed to trigger the high series EF BEM to activate the antenna?
I bought a new Alpine HU and stocko antenna, which I have confirmed to be working by putting +12 onto. When the stereo is switched to radio, 3-5V is supplied on the signal wire, but when connected to the car does nothing. I have tested the up and down lines at the BEM too, and no power is supplied.

has anyone else solved this one?

thanks heaps.

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 553

Joined: 28th Oct 2005

Ride: Peacock EB Falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Use a relay?

 

_________________

Wanted, CFI manifold

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

providing what to the BEM though? thats what I need to know.

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 2:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

anyone?

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:05 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 180

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: FG XR6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Pretty sure the output on the trigger wire of an Alpine headunit should be 12V.
The wire is blue, or blue with a white stripe.

If it's only 5V I'd say it's got issues. Regardless, it can switch a relay on, then you can use the relay to provide 12V where it's needed.

 

_________________

Subtle but high quality audio system.
Alpine processor and amp / Focal Utopia splits / Soundstream Exact sub

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:52 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names