Fordmods Logo

premium sound 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: premium sound
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 8:12 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 384

Joined: 26th Jun 2005

Ride: 1984 FD LTD

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

tried doing a search to find this info, but i mustnt have been getting the 'correct' terms to get it to match what im after.

anyhow, to the query.

hubby is looking at buying a 94 fairmont, with a premium sound headunit - double DIM unit,

i was under the impression, that the premium sound units came with a cd stacker when the premium sound system option box was ticked?
she's got the sub under the parcel shelf too.
There is also what looks like to be an Amp behind the drivers side boot lining panel stuff.

my question:
should the car have a cd stacker in the boot, or not?
coz therez not one there.

sorry for the lame question, but i normally mess around with X series falcons, so EF stuff is a little new to me.

cheers guys and gals.

 

_________________

Member Of "Team LWB"
FD: My Current Project

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... age029.jpg

ZL: A Work In Progress - that went to the tip!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... maller.jpg

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 8:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

It would be a Fairmont Ghia.

IIRC the firs EF Ghias has the CD stacker as a factory option, or perhaps the previous owner removed it before selling it.

Check under the LHS under the parcel shelf for anything that shows a CD stacker was there.

There may also be a square plug on the LHS for hooking up a CD stacker too.

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 10:14 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 384

Joined: 26th Jun 2005

Ride: 1984 FD LTD

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

i looked in the boot for the any evidence of a stacker being mounted there in the past, but didnt see anything - and plus the owner was standing there, so i didnt really get an opportunity to look tooooo closely.

on the lower half of the 'premium sound' unit, its got controls for a stacker by the looks - it definatly has a source "CD" button there...

on the boot, the car has a spoiler, and the chrome trim around the numberplate, has the "Ghia" badge in the center - above the numberplate.
There are no "ghia" badges elsewhere on the exterior of the car either, but it has (i think) a Ghia interior - woodgrain on the door trims, leather and climate control - which looks like it was all factory fitted.

cheers for your information there mate.

 

_________________

Member Of "Team LWB"
FD: My Current Project

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... age029.jpg

ZL: A Work In Progress - that went to the tip!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... maller.jpg

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 10:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yes all double din units had a stacker, either it is been taken out or maybe moved under the front seats ?

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:04 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 384

Joined: 26th Jun 2005

Ride: 1984 FD LTD

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

we went back to have another look at the car - and to give the guy a deposit for it too
asked and looked about under the seats, and it doesnt and never had it there either....

anyone got a stacker to suit a 94 ef premium system laying around?
cant live without CD's these days.. not going back to dreaded cassette tapes!

 

_________________

Member Of "Team LWB"
FD: My Current Project

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... age029.jpg

ZL: A Work In Progress - that went to the tip!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... maller.jpg

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:52 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 34

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I bought my Ghia from the 1st owner and it didn't have a stacker, it was bought as a demo car and never had one fitted. It has the sub and rest of premo head unit. I have since fitted a alpine m-bus stacker and it works great! (with adaptor cable)

Check to see if the control cable is sticking of the trim in the top left of the boot. Also check if there are holes in the underside of the lefthand side of the rear shelf. That will tell you if a stacker was fitted in the car. I have now heard of a few ghia's that had all but the stacker fitted - strange huh!!!

RS

 

_________________

EF Fairmont Ghia
EA II spac with EF driveline & Interior
Now with head work and wade 1636 cam

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:07 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names