Fordmods Logo

Question about carputers... 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Question about carputers...
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

Hi Guys,

I am not sure if this is something that should be posted in this forum or the geeky bits.

I am looking to put a carputer in my car. Would there be any issues with using a regular sata drive, or should I look at obtaining a SSD? I am trying to keep the system to a budget but I would like to have a large-ish Hard-drive. The computer will be there to run centrafuse, and store a lot of music/videos. I have an old 250gb SATA2 that I pulled from my laptop when I uprgaded one of te drives. I think that this size is perfect for how I plan to use it.

To those that are running carputers - what are you running in regards to a HD, and do you have any issues.

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:39 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 135

Joined: 9th Jan 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adeliaide
SA, Australia

you could always run a chiped xbox 1 and xbox media centre
i use this method to play movies and music in my ef
best of all it fits right under the passengers seat
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 424

Joined: 18th Feb 2010

Ride: Ford EF - Garret TO4Z

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

im planning on installing an old compaq with an serial i/o board to interface to multiple temp sensors in engine.

ill mount it in boot probally under parcel shelf

run a vga to the dash and get one of those 15" touch screens, so i can use the 2 relays on the board to control shift kit and other things with a press of the screen, thats coming

 

_________________

Crank Assembly balanced, HV oil pump, ACL Trimetal bearings, "1 extra oil clearance taking to around 0.0650-0.0700 on mains and big ends, Moly rings,, Xr6 Cam, POD ( Possibly oversize injectors), Block, Head, Timing cover, belt idler, Alternator,painted in ford light blue

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 12:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

Allan Gray wrote:
you could always run a chiped xbox 1 and xbox media centre
i use this method to play movies and music in my ef
best of all it fits right under the passengers seat



I did think of a PS2/Xbox...

BUT...

It hasn't got the same ring to it as using a Mini-ITX using a Core i5/i7 or Core 2 (Quad) 8-)
...my budget at the moment is $5-600

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 1:51 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 299

Joined: 19th Aug 2007

Location: Port Augusta
SA, Australia

iPad?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

My issue with the iPad/Xbox/PS2 etc is that these need to be run in conjunction with a head unit. I do not wish to run one.

The carputer will have a TV/FM/DAB+ tuner, all of my media on there, as well as Wi-Fi, GPS and bluetooth (along with all of the regular goodies expected on a computer running Windows XP/Vista/7 (I havent decided on which one yet. It will be a matter of the carputer will be directly connected to amps (prolly via an EQ/processor), and to the speakers from there.

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 1:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

just watch out for vibrations as it going to be a killer......

and have you though about a micro itx as there is some lightningly quick motherboards and processors out their

i have a asus eee with a busted screen you can have for a small fee if your interested

cheers bear

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 1:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

SSD's are VERY expensive for the capacity - you could have 4 or so SATA 2.5" (laptop) hard drives for the same price - they will die a lot quicker than usual but if you mount them on a springy platform the vibrations shouldnt be too bad, i would however stay away from using a 3.5" drive in a carputer setup.

i also have an eeePC with a busted screen earmarked for a carpc (yeh like i have time for another project) - they are well suited to the task, if you can pick one up cheaply its a good starting point

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

I highly recommend an SSD. I suggest you look in to an EEEPC, an EEE box (still ASUS but a beautiful size with a DC input, 1080 capible, low cost & wattage) or an acer vertion (3 litre) or L460

all are compact and realitively cheap, i imagine your using a 'cheap' version of centrafuse too, so if you can find a system without an OS and put a 'cheap' one on as well you'll do it for bugger all. use w7 or tinyxp too, i'll post up a site later that shows you how to cut out the extra crap.

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 1110

Joined: 25th Mar 2007

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: BA MKII Fairlane GHIA

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

a SSD would be perfect for this application due to there being no moving parts
but a HDD will be fine unless you plan on doing a fair amount of 4 wheel driving
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

thinking an ssd for speed more than anything. you dont want to be waiting 2 mins for the thing to get ready to play music

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 1110

Joined: 25th Mar 2007

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: BA MKII Fairlane GHIA

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

fiftyone wrote:
thinking an ssd for speed more than anything. you dont want to be waiting 2 mins for the thing to get ready to play music

well SATA HDD's can be very quick depending on which one you get but Imo get an SSD you will be better off
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

BEAR80 wrote:
just watch out for vibrations as it going to be a killer......

and have you though about a micro itx as there is some lightningly quick motherboards and processors out their

i have a asus eee with a busted screen you can have for a small fee if your interested

cheers bear


My plan was to use a mini-ITX, with the i5 processor. The end processor I will end up using depends on the cost (and how it fits into my budget). The mobo/processor will be the LAST thing I buy. If I am ahead of my budget, I will get the i7 and if I am over budget, I will then opt for the core2 (quad).

I have a laptop at the moment, where the screen hinges are about to break. If I were to use an existing computer, I would use it - as I am due to upgrade it soon anyway (as it is a tax deduction). The Laptop is a C2D (2.2Ghz), 4gb. The main issues with using a laptop/netbook is the power supply. For <$100, you can get a DC/DC power adapter that will start the PC when the car is switched on, and shut it down safely when the car is turned off. My current laptop has 2 seperate HDs in it - meaning that I could upgrade the smaller one (which is a 250Gb) down to a 8/16gb SSD, and have the OS only on there. All of the other stuff would be kept on the other HD (which is currently a 500Gb). My laptop never runs hot and has a great battery life (I still get 2-3 hours use out of it even though it is 2 years old). The other issue with my cirrent laptop is that it is a 17" - so it would not the easiest to mount.

I may just end up running 2 HD's with the mini itx - the small SSD and large HD combo that I mentioned above. The OS and a few of the critical apps would be on the SSD, while the regular sata drive would be used to hold the media files etc. Would there be any issues with this combo?

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 5:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

dont bother with an i5 or i7, remember you dont need this pc to have balls. Your meant to be driving the car, remember? serious, an eeebox or acer L460 will do it easy

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question about carputers...
Posted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:32 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 276

Joined: 14th Apr 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: Fairmont Ghia BA 5.4L V8, AU 6

Power: 205 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

You can get a CompactFlash Card to sata converter and use like a 8GB CF Card? That would be cheaper than an SSD a little. But if you got the money SSD would be the way to go.

 

_________________

Chaos, Panic and Disorder. My work here is finally done.
BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4L. Mods -Full Exhaust, Chipped, Custom Intake, CAI @205.4RWKW.
Stezza - Alpine Type R Splits & 6x9's, Alpine 400w RMS 4ch, 380w RMS Pioneer Mono, 2x12" Pioneer Subs and an AVH-P5950DVD Player.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:50 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names