Fordmods Logo

RCA Double Adaptor..... 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: RCA Double Adaptor.....
Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 11:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 799

Joined: 19th Apr 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Cherokee

Location: Tamborine Mountain
QLD, Australia

Hey just a quickie, I can't be assed pulling my entire floor up again in the Merc cause it's way too much of a f**k around so what I was wondering is there such thing as an RCA double adaptor if you know what I mean.....

Strange question I know but would be nice to know if there is or not. What I was intending to do (if possible) was run the 1 set of RCA's to the mono, have the double adaptor on the mono and link directly to the 2nd amp. Does this sound valid............Or do both amp's infact need there own set of RCA's..

 

_________________

Looking for EF/EL Falcon/Futura/XR6/XR8/Fairy.
PM me if intrested in selling......

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 11:33 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

nah you can split the one RCA into 2. Are you trying to do something like splitting 2 RCAs into 4 so you can run 2 mono blocks? If that is what you are trying to do, then yes there are RCA splitters. I have 2 stinger ones that I use to split 2 RCAs into 4 so I can use my 4 channel amp...works fine.

Does your monoblock have a line out? cause then you can use that but I guess your smart enough to figure it out yourself so I guess your amp don't have a line out.

hope that was correct o_O

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 11:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 799

Joined: 19th Apr 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Cherokee

Location: Tamborine Mountain
QLD, Australia

Well I just thought about it again and I'm pretty certain that it's plausible. The RCA T-pieces that should be available at some type of elec store have a single male end and 2 females, so I should be able to plug male into amp 1, RCA's into female 1, and the other RCA's into female 2, which in turn send the signal to amp 2.........confused yet.......

 

_________________

Looking for EF/EL Falcon/Futura/XR6/XR8/Fairy.
PM me if intrested in selling......

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 11:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 799

Joined: 19th Apr 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Cherokee

Location: Tamborine Mountain
QLD, Australia

:oops: :oops: :oops: Yeah, thanks phong didn't even think about using a splitter box. Things you overlook huh? but the RCA double adaptor should still work the same way as a splitter box, it has the same basic breakdown....

 

_________________

Looking for EF/EL Falcon/Futura/XR6/XR8/Fairy.
PM me if intrested in selling......

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 11:42 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I don't think it works like that....those T-pieces I think are used to join 2 RCAs into the single...which in turn amplifies the signal...but doubtful. you can just get amp splitters for 10 bux each at JB-HiFi...stingers too...though bottom of the line, thats for the short one as well...not sure how much the longer ones are...probably 15 bux or something.

If not try the T-piece thing...though I doubt it would work...unless its one female split into 2 females which basically what the Stinger one does but in the one package...

Give the T-piece a shot...i want to see how it goes =D

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 799

Joined: 19th Apr 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Cherokee

Location: Tamborine Mountain
QLD, Australia

Here's adiagram with my updated programs ....... :roll: :lol: :lol:

 

 

Attachments:
tpiece2.jpg
tpiece2.jpg [ 13.07 KiB | Viewed 32 times ]

 

_________________

Looking for EF/EL Falcon/Futura/XR6/XR8/Fairy.
PM me if intrested in selling......

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1643

Joined: 8th Feb 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Ef Ghiaaaaaargh!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

We sell em at Tandy's not particularly sure if theyre suited for that kind of application though, might be something with the voltages required for the amps and draw on the headunits or something, maybe Big Kev or pyroay can help with that?

 

_________________

Mercedes 500SEC: -- GONE -- http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-83-mercedes-500sec-buildup-t69837.html
Ef Ghia: -- GONE -- Pacie 4480's, 2.5" Redback, custom grille, FTR's.
AU xr8: BA xr wheels, 2.5" custom exh, leather and woodgrain next.
Chevy Camaro: LHD, Black, all original.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 1:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 799

Joined: 19th Apr 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Cherokee

Location: Tamborine Mountain
QLD, Australia

Yeah, well I'll zip down to Jay Car or Tandys in the morning grab a couple and see how I go......
I'll keep ya all posted :D :D

 

_________________

Looking for EF/EL Falcon/Futura/XR6/XR8/Fairy.
PM me if intrested in selling......

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA Double Adaptor.....
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 9:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ED911 wrote:
Hey just a quickie, I can't be assed pulling my entire floor up again in the Merc cause it's way too much of a f**k around so what I was wondering is there such thing as an RCA double adaptor if you know what I mean.....

Strange question I know but would be nice to know if there is or not. What I was intending to do (if possible) was run the 1 set of RCA's to the mono, have the double adaptor on the mono and link directly to the 2nd amp. Does this sound valid............Or do both amp's infact need there own set of RCA's..


The second amp tho is it also a mono block that you plan to hang of the same signal input on the HU....ie is this a 3x Pre-Out head unit ?

I'll wait on the above answer b4 going any further...will watch ya topic.

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 1:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 799

Joined: 19th Apr 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Cherokee

Location: Tamborine Mountain
QLD, Australia

I'll keep ya posted Kev I've just brought the RCA t-pieces so give us an hour and I'll get back too ya....

 

_________________

Looking for EF/EL Falcon/Futura/XR6/XR8/Fairy.
PM me if intrested in selling......

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 799

Joined: 19th Apr 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Cherokee

Location: Tamborine Mountain
QLD, Australia

Righto, an update for ya's. Kev the HU is an Alpine CDA 9851 which if memory serves me correct it has 3 RCA outputs. I now have 1 set of RCA's running to a Mono (Alpine MRP M450) the t-pieces have had the male connection put into the Mono, the RCA's running from the HU have been put into one set of female connectors. The final female connector has had a set of 30cm RCA's plugged into it and then plugged into amp number 2 (Pioneer 2 ch GM 3200T)

So in answering you qestion before Kev no it's not running between 2 mono's infact its a mono and a pissy little 2 channel. It seems to do the job fine. The mono is powering to 8" DLS free air subs, and the 2 channel is running a set of Eclipse 4x6's. The headunit is also powering a set of Focal Acess 4" and a set of 6.5" Eclipse as rear fill. I haven't noticed a fall in SQ infact I think it sounds quite good. I'm not aware of anything that may go wrong with this setup either. After all the RCA's are only running an analogue signal with minimum power, yeah?

Here it is anyway...I'll be waiting for your comments....

 

 

Attachments:
install.jpg
install.jpg [ 15.12 KiB | Viewed 34 times ]

 

_________________

Looking for EF/EL Falcon/Futura/XR6/XR8/Fairy.
PM me if intrested in selling......

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 799

Joined: 19th Apr 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Cherokee

Location: Tamborine Mountain
QLD, Australia

here's a close up I hope ^^^ made some sense cause after reading it I'm f**k confused.... :? :?

 

 

Attachments:
rca adaptor.jpg
rca adaptor.jpg [ 15.47 KiB | Viewed 27 times ]

 

_________________

Looking for EF/EL Falcon/Futura/XR6/XR8/Fairy.
PM me if intrested in selling......

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:18 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 399

Joined: 21st Feb 2006

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

If it helps I have one set of rca from the head unit to the back I then have 3 pair of double adapters to split the signal to 1 x 4 channel & 2 x 2 channel amps.All amps have built in crossovers and works fine

 

_________________

efII wgn xr front xr ecu 17s filter pacemakers highflow cat & 2.5 manual conversion
THERE IS NO TIME FOR PATIENCE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:31 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 142

Joined: 6th Jan 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Sorry to hijack the thread but my head unit only has 1 pair of RCAs. I want to split the RCAs at the 4 channel amp. Now from reading all the above I jus need to get a female to male splitter and i should be right? Are the ones from tandy etc ok to use?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 799

Joined: 19th Apr 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Cherokee

Location: Tamborine Mountain
QLD, Australia

Quote:
Sorry to hijack the thread but my head unit only has 1 pair of RCAs. I want to split the RCAs at the 4 channel amp. Now from reading all the above I jus need to get a female to male splitter and i should be right? Are the ones from tandy etc ok to use?


Hijack the thread alright how about ya piss off mate :wink: :wink: :D

Yeah we'll since I've done it I haven't had any trouble as of yet, the ones I got above were from Jay Car and they cost 4 bux each. I'm just waiting on the likes of Big Kev to get back and see what he thinks the implications maybe if any...........

Just keep an eye on this thread and no doubt we'll find something out

 

_________________

Looking for EF/EL Falcon/Futura/XR6/XR8/Fairy.
PM me if intrested in selling......

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:07 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names