Fordmods Logo

Rca line level converter in ba 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 8:08 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 29

Joined: 9th Feb 2012

Ride: Ford falcon ba mk II

Location: Tyabb
VIC, Australia

Alright i tried finding out how to do this but cant find exactly what im looking for i plan on hooking up a sub and amp in one with nothing else running of it with the stock head unit in my ba mk 2 xl ute and i have a rca line level converter what i need to know is how exactly does it get hooked up it has + -g- + on it and before i wire it up wrong if someone could tell me which wires go where and how they need to be connected up it would be really helpful wire colour coding would also be very helpful ive searched the forums but cant find one on this if i have missed it if someone could link me to it that would be very helpful

 

_________________

Ba mk II XL 4speed auto
Shift kit, tartarini vapour gas injection system, PWR transcooler, powerstat , csa edge rims, westlake tyres, bosch platinum iridium lpg plugs
heaps more mods to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:30 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 24

Joined: 8th Jul 2006

Ride: The T

Location: Penruff
NSW, Australia

use your cig lighter socket for power if reqired.

sound:
tap rear speakers for sound input:


RL + : pink with dark green trace
RL - : pink with black trace

RR + : blue with red trace
RR - : blue with black trace

 

_________________

If u wanna rev it chev it , but if u wanna be in the next round best get a CLEVO

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1833

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

and G is normally to ground the converter itself. can help reduce noise I believe?

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 7:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I believe that the wiring for the amp and subbie is already in place,it is in my MK1,but I have to take it to ASL to have it wired.

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 7:54 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 24

Joined: 8th Jul 2006

Ride: The T

Location: Penruff
NSW, Australia

yes you could, BUT

the power of the stock amp is NOT good enought for any aftermarket amps.
ASL do do a rca conversions to the ICC but there other options.
Cheaper: LC6i from audiocontrol ,
MID class: Cleansweep from (i think) JL audio, PXA-800 from alpine
Money is no object class: Audioson BIT.1

all will give you RCAs's and amp remote.
as the cost rises trhe features rise with , time alignment, DSP and so on

Power wil need to be run depending on AMP/s chosen

disconnet the factory amp , as it enables filters within the ICC when connected.

 

_________________

If u wanna rev it chev it , but if u wanna be in the next round best get a CLEVO

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 11:16 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 29

Joined: 9th Feb 2012

Ride: Ford falcon ba mk II

Location: Tyabb
VIC, Australia

Ok so if i use the font speaker wiring seen as my ute only has door speakers it shouldnt mAke a difference? And do i just splice in and run a wire of each wire?

 

_________________

Ba mk II XL 4speed auto
Shift kit, tartarini vapour gas injection system, PWR transcooler, powerstat , csa edge rims, westlake tyres, bosch platinum iridium lpg plugs
heaps more mods to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 11:22 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 24

Joined: 8th Jul 2006

Ride: The T

Location: Penruff
NSW, Australia

Yes mate that will be fine just remember to phase them correctly
I thought utes had rears in the side panels. I may be wrong

 

_________________

If u wanna rev it chev it , but if u wanna be in the next round best get a CLEVO

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:27 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 29

Joined: 9th Feb 2012

Ride: Ford falcon ba mk II

Location: Tyabb
VIC, Australia

Its possible its about the only part of the car i havent thoroughly inspected do you have the colour coding for the front speakers?

 

_________________

Ba mk II XL 4speed auto
Shift kit, tartarini vapour gas injection system, PWR transcooler, powerstat , csa edge rims, westlake tyres, bosch platinum iridium lpg plugs
heaps more mods to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:51 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 29

Joined: 9th Feb 2012

Ride: Ford falcon ba mk II

Location: Tyabb
VIC, Australia

Alright just had a look and it definitley only has speakers in the doors, looks like the front speakers are the ones im gonna have to run it of

 

_________________

Ba mk II XL 4speed auto
Shift kit, tartarini vapour gas injection system, PWR transcooler, powerstat , csa edge rims, westlake tyres, bosch platinum iridium lpg plugs
heaps more mods to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 9:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey quaddie, as I am on a very limited budget, is it possible to get the amp and subbie I have fitted, going, on my black MK1 screen,on the cheap?
ASL reccommend fitting the colour screen=$650,+$150 for ASL to hook up, so that the system works.

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 9:52 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 24

Joined: 8th Jul 2006

Ride: The T

Location: Penruff
NSW, Australia

Is it the stock amp and sub or aftermarket
Are u good with a soldering iron ?

 

_________________

If u wanna rev it chev it , but if u wanna be in the next round best get a CLEVO

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

No it is all the standaed equipment, as I had already fitted the tweeters-which worked, so blindly I assumed with the wiring in place, that the subbie would work also.

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:48 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 24

Joined: 8th Jul 2006

Ride: The T

Location: Penruff
NSW, Australia

So you fitted the factory amp and sub ?
I think the low level ICC doesn't have the provision for the sub channel

Does the red light on the amp come on ?

Did u fit the. Factory harness or make your own ?

The tweeters are driven off the font and left exisiting channels.
So they don't care what ICC it's connected too.

 

_________________

If u wanna rev it chev it , but if u wanna be in the next round best get a CLEVO

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I discovered all the wiring was in place, so purshased the standard gear, and fitted it.

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Rca line level converter in ba
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 9:02 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 24

Joined: 8th Jul 2006

Ride: The T

Location: Penruff
NSW, Australia

ok , i think the low spec ICC dosnt have the sub channel from the icc so ASL upgrade is in order

 

_________________

If u wanna rev it chev it , but if u wanna be in the next round best get a CLEVO

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:27 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names