Fordmods Logo

RCA plug on standard wiring? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: RCA plug on standard wiring?
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:30 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 22

Posts: 337

Joined: 30th Apr 2011

Ride: '97 EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Another audio post sorry...

Just bought and installed a Kenwood 2din head unit. It has 4 rca outputs, 2 for the front and 2 for the rear/subwoofer, which leads me to my problem. I need to choose between the rear speakers and the sub. I obviously want both.
So I was thinking; would it work if I attached an RCA plug to the ends of the standard speaker wires and ran that up to the amp? I can't see why that wouldn't work, but I could be wrong.

cheers

 

_________________

The EL ghia
^^^^^^^^^^

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA plug on standard wiring?
Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 9:34 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 384

Joined: 24th Feb 2012

Gallery: 58 images

Ride: 2001 au forte 6cyl

Location: gladstone
SA, Australia

So you want to attach RCA plugs onto your speaker wire? Then plug it in the back of your stereo in the rear speaker output? I don't see why this won't work

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA plug on standard wiring?
Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 9:21 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 384

Joined: 24th Feb 2012

Gallery: 58 images

Ride: 2001 au forte 6cyl

Location: gladstone
SA, Australia

Or run a separate amp to power your 6" s n splits coming from the rear output

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA plug on standard wiring?
Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

It wont work at all.
RCA are 4-5V. You just cant jam an RCA plug onto a speaker wire.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA plug on standard wiring?
Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 849

Joined: 3rd Jan 2011

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Subaru Liberty RX Wagon MY03

Location: North Richmond
NSW, Australia

Use 2 y adaptor cables to split the signal between the sub amp and the speaker amp. That or get a hu with 3 pre outs.

 

_________________

Current ride: MY03 Liberty RX Wagon
EBII S-XR6, Now 5 speed. Moved on to greener pastures...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA plug on standard wiring?
Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 11:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

You will need to split the front output but.
The rear has to be switched within an internal menu to activate the crossover for the sub.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA plug on standard wiring?
Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 11:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.as ... TID=1029#4

/thread

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA plug on standard wiring?
Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 3:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1204

Joined: 24th Apr 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ef Fairmont

Location: Bleakheath
NSW, Australia

Depending on what amp/s your running. I personally would not go for a high/low converter. Waste of money and it will weaken the signal of the output clarity wise. I have a 4 rca output deck and all I have done is run the fronts to the fronts of the 4 channel amp I have, the rear rca's I have used 2 single female to 2 male rca's off each rca, plugged one set into the rears of the 4 channel and the others into a mono block amp for the sub.... Easy. Similar to these but Jaycar and d**k Smiths have them for a hell of alot cheaper considering postage ( think I paid about $4 each about 2 years ago)
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/RCA-GOLD-SPL ... 22fbb465e6
Using a line converter will diminish a small amount of quality from the speaker wires being converted to rca, are a waste of money if you have a 4 channel out amp and much more of a pain in the a** to install than just using the splitters. There is a reason why new amps dont use the speaker wire inputs anymore, rca will produce better sound. Using a high/low converter your getting a poorish signal from a speaker wire and then changing it to rca, the change will diminish the sound quality even more than what it was from the speaker wires and honestly a poor piece of advise putting into account your system and needs.
Also, dont run the rears off the front speaker output, your deck is designed to give different sounds to the front and rear channels, all you will have is a sound that lacks depth ( listen to your systems sound going to the fronts and rears, there is slight sound differences during a song).

Last edited by 79 raven on Mon Jul 29, 2013 3:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA plug on standard wiring?
Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 3:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1204

Joined: 24th Apr 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ef Fairmont

Location: Bleakheath
NSW, Australia

evxr6 wrote:
Use 2 y adaptor cables to split the signal between the sub amp and the speaker amp. That or get a hu with 3 pre outs.

+1
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA plug on standard wiring?
Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 3:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1204

Joined: 24th Apr 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ef Fairmont

Location: Bleakheath
NSW, Australia

Also, when you run the female to 2 male splitters make sure you put some electrical tape around the join to make sure the connection does not move or arc out on any metal on the car or amps.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: RCA plug on standard wiring?
Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 3:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 546

Joined: 5th Jun 2010

Ride: BA XT, NCII V8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

i had the same issue was easy fix,

use fronts to front as normal then the set the others to rear and run them to a amp, my amp has a output on it aswell i was able to run that to another amp to power the subs,

either that or get a 1-2 rca adapter,
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:12 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names