Fordmods Logo

Remote Not Working 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Remote Not Working
Posted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:41 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Ok trying to watch the football last night in the car on the TV and recpetion was a bit dodgy. Now to tune it you press buttons on the remote. But my remote doesnt work. It might be a flat battery (shouldnt be only had the headunit about 6 months) but is there a wire or something that needs to be connected to recieve the remotes signal?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

if the remote sensor is seperate from the unit, then yes you will need to connect a wire! if the sensor is internal, i can't see you having to connect anything.

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 2:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

mr_sperm1 wrote:
if the remote sensor is seperate from the unit, then yes you will need to connect a wire! if the sensor is internal, i can't see you having to connect anything.


spot on dude...so hope ya kept the manual for this dude or can track one down :P

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 4:51 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 180

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: FG XR6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

I'd check the battery.
I went back to a dealer complaining of dodgy intermittent remote, and it was the batteries. I felt soooo stupid. Ah well, you learn from your mistakes.

As an aside,
My tuner is actually not getting a remote signal at the moment too. I figure I have a broken wire somewhere, but it's buried too deep, so I haven't got around to searching it out yet.

 

_________________

Subtle but high quality audio system.
Alpine processor and amp / Focal Utopia splits / Soundstream Exact sub

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:03 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hmmm maybe Ill drop it into Autobarn and see what the guy there says!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

twirqurky wrote:
Hmmm maybe Ill drop it into Autobarn and see what the guy there says!


yeh might be a good idea to seek some assistance with this since ya dont have the doco for it... is autobarn who you got it off or was it an ebay job...have you tried googling the model to see if you can download the manual from the manufacturers website or any other site/forums etc that may have also posted asking or discussing the wiring for this unit?

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 12:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Oh I have the manual. Its an Ebay unit but Autobarn installed it, so Ill see what he says.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 4:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

twirqurky wrote:
Oh I have the manual. Its an Ebay unit but Autobarn installed it, so Ill see what he says.


ok nice be interesting to see what they say...so ya manula mentions stuff all regarding the remote connection ?

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:17 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Just to clarify Kev Im talking about the remote control, not the remote wire for the amp and sub.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 1:36 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Got a camera phone? Point the phone camera at the infrared led and press a button. You'll then be able to "see" if the remote is working, or at least if the batteries are flat.

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:20 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names