Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

Removal of standatd stereo in au falcon 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Removal of standatd stereo in au falcon
Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 10:07 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 13

Joined: 9th Jan 2006

Location: Linuxville
VIC, Australia

Would someone be nice enough to tell me how to remove the standard stereo in a 98 au1? I don't even know where to start,i want to install my $20 cd player
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 10:24 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 60

Joined: 11th Oct 2005

Ride: falcon

Location: Mt Gambier
SA, Australia

u need the special tools, they look like a wire bent it a u shape & go into the 4 small holes in the end of the stereo

 

_________________

i cant be bothered thinking of something to write here

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 1:48 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1000316

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

another 1


sheesh

have a search mate this has been covered like 5 times on aus int he past few weeks

 

_________________

Image

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 587

Joined: 25th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

If its anything like mine its a nightmare. The clips were already broken and even the car audio place I took it to used a big screwdriver and a knife to get the bastard out!!! No wonder I had so much trouble.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:24 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1000316

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

falconboy wrote:
If its anything like mine its a nightmare. The clips were already broken and even the car audio place I took it to used a big screwdriver and a knife to get the bastard out!!! No wonder I had so much trouble.



F**k i just smashed mine with a hammer and screw driver :)

 

_________________

Image

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 8:27 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 176

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: FG XR6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

i used perseverence and some of mums metal cooking skewers.

power tools are also good, but you usually replace the dash afterwards...

 

_________________

Subtle but high quality audio system.
Alpine processor and amp / Focal Utopia splits / Soundstream Exact sub

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 8:46 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 60

Joined: 11th Oct 2005

Ride: falcon

Location: Mt Gambier
SA, Australia

I still think that 2 minutes stopping in at a ford dealer is easier.

 

_________________

i cant be bothered thinking of something to write here

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:13 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 13

Joined: 11th Dec 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeah mate i had this same trouble a few weeks back.

not worth the effort, i just took it in to strathfield and they took it out for me (for a charge of course) took 5 seconds,

 

_________________

Hi signature!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 561

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: XC V8

Location: Easten
SA, Australia

the quick way is to smash the crap out of it

 

_________________

1976 XC falcon
182 Clio Sport

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 413

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: 2000 AU II Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane Most of the time/Sydney Some of the time
QLD, Australia

heres one that hasnt been covered (at least recently). the atandard au ones are 2xdin, and if u want to install a 1xdin unit, how do u do it? the clips and bracket are suited for the 2xdin, and dont look like theyd allow for a 1x din to be securely mounted!

 

_________________

Organza 2000 AU 2 Fairmont Ghia
4.0 VCT
JMM Race Series Exhaust
AWC TS50 Front bar
3.45 LSD

Coming soon:
G&D Airbox
CAPA Edit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 11:55 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 176

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: FG XR6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

this was covered VERY recently.
get the little "pocket" that goes beneath the deck to fill the gap.

 

_________________

Subtle but high quality audio system.
Alpine processor and amp / Focal Utopia splits / Soundstream Exact sub

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 5:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 413

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: 2000 AU II Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane Most of the time/Sydney Some of the time
QLD, Australia

thats the obvious bit. but when you have the pocket, and a single din headunit, what then? you cant bolt the headunit in, and as far as i can tell the bracket that comes with the h/u has nowhere to grab onto!

 

_________________

Organza 2000 AU 2 Fairmont Ghia
4.0 VCT
JMM Race Series Exhaust
AWC TS50 Front bar
3.45 LSD

Coming soon:
G&D Airbox
CAPA Edit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 12:53 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 176

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: FG XR6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

my h/u used the "knob" th8ing that sticks out the back of the factory deck. i transferred it to the back of the new deck, (they're made for it). That holds up the back of the deck once in.
The sleeve was mounted kinda dodgy using whatever i could find. I used a couple of those "straps" that come with a new headunit.

 

_________________

Subtle but high quality audio system.
Alpine processor and amp / Focal Utopia splits / Soundstream Exact sub

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Removal of standatd stereo in au falcon
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:08 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 1

Joined: 1st Mar 2012

Ride: au2 fairlane

Location: corrimal
NSW, Australia

After 3 hours of poking around with coathanger wire I changed over to the thickest wire that would fit into the fascia holes.IT LITERALLY FELL OUT!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re:
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 10:29 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 141

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: '96 EL Ford Fairmonth Ghia.

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Disco Frank wrote:
another 1


sheesh

have a search mate this has been covered like 5 times on aus int he past few weeks


I always love seeing you post Frank. ;)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:05 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names