Fordmods Logo

Removing AU stereo steering wheel controls 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Removing AU stereo steering wheel controls
Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 5:30 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 61

Joined: 15th Apr 2008

Ride: 99 AU S1 Tickford VCT XR6

Location: Western Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hey all, i'm about to install a single din HU into my series 1 au and i want to remove the steering wheel controls since they won't be used anymore. Anyone know how to do this? I looked behind the controls and can't really see anything.. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Cheers.

 

_________________

http://www.aufalcon.com/thr347

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 6:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

do you have cruise control? you can purchase a module so you can retain the controls

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:20 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 61

Joined: 15th Apr 2008

Ride: 99 AU S1 Tickford VCT XR6

Location: Western Sydney
NSW, Australia

Thanks for the advice guys. If i remove the airbag will it still work after i remove the controls? Also, i had a look at those screws behind the circle covers and they look like they need a special tool...

Yes i do have cruise control, but i don't really want to spend the $200+ dollars i've been quoted to keep the controls. Plus i figured that if i get a HU with a remote i won't need the steering wheel controls.

Thnaks again for your help.

 

_________________

http://www.aufalcon.com/thr347

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:23 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 61

Joined: 15th Apr 2008

Ride: 99 AU S1 Tickford VCT XR6

Location: Western Sydney
NSW, Australia

I forgot to ask, if i undo the screws behind the circle covers will that remove the horn cover? Cheers

 

_________________

http://www.aufalcon.com/thr347

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 6:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 661

Joined: 14th Jan 2007

Ride: T1 TE50 P01

Location: Perth NoR
WA, Australia

badam wrote:
Thanks for the advice guys. If i remove the airbag will it still work after i remove the controls? Also, i had a look at those screws behind the circle covers and they look like they need a special tool...

Yes i do have cruise control, but i don't really want to spend the $200+ dollars i've been quoted to keep the controls. Plus i figured that if i get a HU with a remote i won't need the steering wheel controls.

Thnaks again for your help.


Why not just leave them there? When/if you sell the car you can re install the standard deck and they'll work....


Just my 0.02"

 

_________________

TE50 T1 P01
200kw 5.0L, T5, Koni shocks, King S/Lows, Whiteline swaybars, DBA 4000 rotors, Acron CAI, 80mm Accufab TB, Difillipo headers & cats, twin 2.5" & Aerochambers, 3.91 LSD.

To Come:
Long rod 306, TFS 11R 205cc heads, SHP camshaft, 1.72 R/R, ported TFS Box R, 400hp NX SHO kit...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 1:16 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 61

Joined: 15th Apr 2008

Ride: 99 AU S1 Tickford VCT XR6

Location: Western Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yep that's the piece i meant ashcook. I didn't know that was the airbag as well! And i would leave them there but i'm just pedantic i suppose :P They don't work so why should they be there!!!?? lol if it's easy enough to take out it'll be easy enough to put back in when i do decide to sell.

Thanks again fellas.

 

_________________

http://www.aufalcon.com/thr347

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 1:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

badam wrote:
Yep that's the piece i meant ashcook. I didn't know that was the airbag as well! And i would leave them there but i'm just pedantic i suppose :P They don't work so why should they be there!!!?? lol if it's easy enough to take out it'll be easy enough to put back in when i do decide to sell.

Thanks again fellas.


Issue: Your horn, cruise and audio switches are part of the 1 loom. You can cut the 2 wires that go to the audio controls, and just insulate the ends of the wires that you cut. to put them back in, you would need to re-solder the wires.
When I put the whole AU setup in my EL, I was looking at doing away with the audio controls (as the EL does not have them). In the end, I just bought the adapter (I paid $75 for a second had one on ebay), and made them work.

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:33 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names