Fordmods Logo

running 2 amps.... 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: running 2 amps....
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 7:52 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 263

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA II XR6 Turbo Ute & XH Ute

Power: 295 rwkw

Location: Skye
VIC, Australia

i have just bought a sony mono block amp to run 2 jl audio 12w3v2 subs and i already have an amp in there that i wanna keep can i bridge off the other amp or do i run new cable

 

_________________

~Such Is Life....
EL Fairmont Ghia: lowered suspension , TIKFD custom plates, 20x8.5 XHP Shoreline, soon to have: JVC head unit, Eclipse speakers, Alpine and Sony Amps, 2x JL Audio 12w3v2 subs

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 8:02 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

You can run a splitter on the RCA inputs to the new amp just fine. Results will depend on signal/cable quality.

I run two amps, but my 4ch has passthrough RCA ports, so they get a short bit of cable to the mono.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 10:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hmmmm Sony running JL subs, something may be "exploding" later! Anyways as your HU got a seperate sub out? other wise as said use a splitter unless one of the amps has a line out.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 10:55 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11738

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah if one amp has line out u can use that. if not just get one of those stinger spliters for 10 - 19 bux depending which one u want.

btw sorry to steal the thread. i have a 4 channel amp with 2 line outs. what happens when i plug the line outs into the line in? cause i only have 2RCA outs on my HU (dw i have splitters but just wondering)

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 17, 2006 12:25 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 101

Joined: 5th Mar 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EF II Fairmont

Location: Docklands
VIC, Australia

It'l work exactly the same as using splitters

 

_________________

Back 2 square 1....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 17, 2006 5:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 263

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA II XR6 Turbo Ute & XH Ute

Power: 295 rwkw

Location: Skye
VIC, Australia

head unit has sub out. and its a good quality sony amp so i reakon it will have line out

 

_________________

~Such Is Life....
EL Fairmont Ghia: lowered suspension , TIKFD custom plates, 20x8.5 XHP Shoreline, soon to have: JVC head unit, Eclipse speakers, Alpine and Sony Amps, 2x JL Audio 12w3v2 subs

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 18, 2006 10:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

If the HU has a sub out why are you asking if you have to run another cable. Do it properly and use the sub out to run the sub.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 18, 2006 6:30 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 263

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA II XR6 Turbo Ute & XH Ute

Power: 295 rwkw

Location: Skye
VIC, Australia

i am gonig to.... i ment power cables and stuff

 

_________________

~Such Is Life....
EL Fairmont Ghia: lowered suspension , TIKFD custom plates, 20x8.5 XHP Shoreline, soon to have: JVC head unit, Eclipse speakers, Alpine and Sony Amps, 2x JL Audio 12w3v2 subs

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 11:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ah that makes all the difference, just get hold of a double fuse block.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 7:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2396

Joined: 25th Sep 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Da Maverick & xe ute

Location: Upper FTG. melbourne
VIC, Australia

***distro block*** oh and run atleast 4g from ur batt :D

 

_________________

Mods: sprint kit, steeda short shift, svo lip, El handles, El Air intake, au xr wheels, lukey cat back, jbl focal and pioneer sterio <--- Sold

Xe ute - Bright green with 302

Da maverick - Straight gas turbo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 22, 2006 6:45 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 263

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA II XR6 Turbo Ute & XH Ute

Power: 295 rwkw

Location: Skye
VIC, Australia

worked it all out just then going 2 gauge to the fuse block, as i have a 2 gauge port at my battery terminal then through a 100amp wafer fuse into 4 gauge back to the amp.

 

_________________

~Such Is Life....
EL Fairmont Ghia: lowered suspension , TIKFD custom plates, 20x8.5 XHP Shoreline, soon to have: JVC head unit, Eclipse speakers, Alpine and Sony Amps, 2x JL Audio 12w3v2 subs

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:15 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names