Fordmods Logo

Screen Installation 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Screen Installation
Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:24 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 10th Jan 2005

Ride: 2002 Mustang Cobra

Location: Broadmeadows (Melb. North)
VIC, Australia

Guys, would it be hard to remove the factory GLi headunit and install one of these to the factory speakers?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/7-Touch-Screen-B ... dZViewItem

 

_________________

Red 2002 Mustang Cobra

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 595

Joined: 2nd Oct 2007

Power: 327 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

dude, so easy. pretty much just cut and shut everything from old to new. all the wiring is clearly listed. any probs.. i'll be working.. ask phong.. he knows all. so i hear
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 9:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1618

Joined: 12th May 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA 3V Tunna

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

easy.. take the stock unit out and it will have a bracket on each side.. take them off and put them on the new unit.. connect all wiring and your away
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:01 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

You'll have to mount it sticking out a bit, so the headunit clears the bulge above it when it flips out.
Get one of those adaptor plugs from supercheap, that go from ford plug to bare wires, so you don't have to chop your factory plug off.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 2:20 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 10th Jan 2005

Ride: 2002 Mustang Cobra

Location: Broadmeadows (Melb. North)
VIC, Australia

Ok great.. another question.. I wont need an amp will I? Sorry got no clue about car audio..

 

_________________

Red 2002 Mustang Cobra

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 10:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1618

Joined: 12th May 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA 3V Tunna

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

you wont need an amp if your just installing the head unit
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 4:11 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 315

Joined: 7th Oct 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

don't forget about the ford factory anti theft screws that you need special screwdriver attachments for, for more info check the tech document section

 

_________________

84 XF Falcon S Pak, 250 crossflow (rebuilt ~5000km ago, carby model), Bored out 30 thou, Crow racing cam, extractors, yokohama 245's all the way round, chrome 12 slotters, lowered, 4spd man, open wheeler (blew my lsd...), Thumping sound system, L.E.D's everywhere

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 6:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Might also wanna read some of the threads on the el cheepo eBay.com.au DVD/LCDs/etc. if you havn't already.

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:49 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 10th Jan 2005

Ride: 2002 Mustang Cobra

Location: Broadmeadows (Melb. North)
VIC, Australia

One more thing.. I have to ground the Brake Sensor wire... can I use the same ground point as the black ground wire? (which would be the ground from the factory headunit)

 

_________________

Red 2002 Mustang Cobra

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1618

Joined: 12th May 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA 3V Tunna

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

mr_rx7_ wrote:
One more thing.. I have to ground the Brake Sensor wire... can I use the same ground point as the black ground wire? (which would be the ground from the factory headunit)


yeah thats fine..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 2:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Shum's EL wrote:
mr_rx7_ wrote:
One more thing.. I have to ground the Brake Sensor wire... can I use the same ground point as the black ground wire? (which would be the ground from the factory headunit)


yeah thats fine..


Yeah, provided you don't want it to operate with the rbake.

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 12:52 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names