Fordmods Logo

Sony deck with alpine cd changer... 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Sony deck with alpine cd changer...
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 1:25 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 229

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Does anyone know if its possible to connect a sony cdx-c5000 series head unit to an alpine CHM-S600 cd changer?

I've just bought an ef fairmont and it came with the stock deck with that alpine cd changer and i want to connect my sony deck to it

thanks

 

_________________

<br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

I doubt it. But you may have luck.
Do the plugs even look similar (I mean the output cable from the stacker and the input on the H/U)? I am pretty sure every brand had a different connector.

If you are willing to gamble, you can try it. Personally, i wouldn't even try it.

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 3:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

wont work

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 3:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1954

Joined: 13th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: eb falcon s series 2

Location: on welfare
NSW, Australia

Interceptor wrote:
wont work


what he said.


you need an adapter ($80 iirc) and only works with alpine h/u aswell

 

_________________

‮‮

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 3:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

*sigh*
seeing as someone has pulled me up on this, i'll explain further

the HU in EF-EL's is a FMS branded unit (ford/mazda/sanyo?) that is configured to fun a ford branded (but alpine sourced) stacker (and amp in the premium systems)

the alpine stacker is from a series using alpines earlier M-bus interface

the issue (although unrelated to the original question) is that to run a M-bus stacker with a later model AI-net HU, you have to source an adapter from alpine, although i am unsure as to wether they are still available

to answer your original question, there's very little chance that your existing stacker would work with a sony HU, and even if you were able to rewire it to match the sony stacker connector, it's unlikely that the HU and stacker would communicate with each other

have you already purchased the sony HU? if not, may i ask why your interest in it? IMO there are better HU's available.....

i see by your sig that you currently have an alpine HU, whats the situation with that?

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 4:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

going on the point...
i have a alpine CHM-S630, 6 stacker, anyone know if this would be able to run on a stock ef fairmont head unit?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 732

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: LTDHO

Location: South eastern
VIC, Australia

Interceptor wrote:
wont work


What he said.
So get rid of the cheap HU and get an Alpine unit.

Gaz wrote:
have a alpine CHM-S630, 6 stacker, anyone know if this would be able to run on a stock ef fairmont head unit?


I believe there is an adaptor. But as i said above, get an Alpine HU
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

Gaz wrote:
going on the point...
i have a alpine CHM-S630, 6 stacker, anyone know if this would be able to run on a stock ef fairmont head unit?
how old is it? and do you know if it's a M-bus or AI-net?

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Interceptor wrote:
Gaz wrote:
going on the point...
i have a alpine CHM-S630, 6 stacker, anyone know if this would be able to run on a stock ef fairmont head unit?
how old is it? and do you know if it's a M-bus or AI-net?


well it runs in a 94 honda accord atm, no nfi what they use :? its probably.. 2-3 years old?

will be taking over parents ef fairmont in a few months so yeh, was just looking at options, will probably jsut end up forking out for an mp3 head unit

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:12 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 229

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

its cool guys all sorted now, and it was for a mate, not for myself that explains my sig 8-)

didnt look like it was going to work but my older alpine deck managed to fit with the cd changer and it works great, not sure if the system was M-bus or AI-net, but it was a CDM series and my new AI-net one is a CDA series, so perhaps the M and A in the model numbers stand for M-bus and AI-net?? just a thort

anyways thanks for ur help, seems the problem was again overcome buy using alpine stuff :D

alpine 4 life! :wink:
cheers

 

_________________

<br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

Gaz wrote:
Interceptor wrote:
Gaz wrote:
going on the point...
i have a alpine CHM-S630, 6 stacker, anyone know if this would be able to run on a stock ef fairmont head unit?
how old is it? and do you know if it's a M-bus or AI-net?


well it runs in a 94 honda accord atm, no nfi what they use :? its probably.. 2-3 years old?

will be taking over parents ef fairmont in a few months so yeh, was just looking at options, will probably jsut end up forking out for an mp3 head unit
from what little i can see of a pattern evolving here, i'd say it's an earlier M-bus style stacker, so in theory it *should* be compatible with a ford HU

is it's plug a round one about 10mm in diameter with 8 pins

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:44 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 238

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Lincoln Navigator

Location: USA
Oustide Australia

Gaz wrote:
going on the point...
i have a alpine CHM-S630, 6 stacker, anyone know if this would be able to run on a stock ef fairmont head unit?


YES. It is an M-bus stacker IF you look it up on the net. No adapter required. You will just plug n play.

Save your money if you like and use this stacker. Make sure you keep the cable though too!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:45 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 238

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Lincoln Navigator

Location: USA
Oustide Australia

Gaz wrote:
going on the point...
i have a alpine CHM-S630, 6 stacker, anyone know if this would be able to run on a stock ef fairmont head unit?


YES. It is an M-bus stacker IF you look it up on the net. No adapter required. You will just plug n play.

Save your money if you like and use this stacker. Make sure you keep the cable though too!
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:49 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names