Fordmods Logo

stereo doesnt work with lights on. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: stereo doesnt work with lights on.
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:39 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 54

Joined: 7th May 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Mona Vale
NSW, Australia

hey all, when i turn my lights on my stereo makes a scrambled noise and then after a few secs my head unit goes into protect mode. this has happened with both head units i have had. i used a multimeter and checked the earth wire on the unit is okay. has anyone had this problem and does anyone know the solution?

thanks guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: stereo doesnt work with lights on.
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:46 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 87

Joined: 20th Sep 2009

Ride: FG Falcon XR6, Nitro Blue

Location: Gisborne
VIC, Australia

just when you turn the lights on?
could be something to do with the dimming feature of the headunit?
incorrect wire connected maybe

 

_________________

Mods are upcoming.

Audio: JVC (KD-R705) headunit, 6" Clarion front splits, 12" Kenwood Sub in sealed box. Kicker 4ch amp running sub and fronts.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: stereo doesnt work with lights on.
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:58 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 13

Joined: 10th Apr 2008

Ride: falcon

Location: mackay
QLD, Australia

i would check your earth with the lights on. because its common for the earth in the headunit to be connected to the parklights because it's earth until the lights are on
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: stereo doesnt work with lights on.
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:46 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 54

Joined: 7th May 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Mona Vale
NSW, Australia

philfree wrote:
i would check your earth with the lights on. because its common for the earth in the headunit to be connected to the parklights because it's earth until the lights are on


ok found out what it was, the tossers who installed the headunit before. that is, the previous owners of the car, ran the rear speaker signal wires right along side the rear driving lights power cable.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: stereo doesnt work with lights on.
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:01 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 383

Joined: 11th Aug 2006

Ride: 6.0L VE Calais-V

Location: Hastings
VIC, Australia

Speaker wire levels are to high to get the massive interference you mentioned from having a power wire next to them and there's no way a wire running near it would cause protection mode.

philfree is onto it... A lot of people measure the dimmer wire (dash lights) as 0v because no one wires a stereo up with the lights off... Then when they turn the lights on, the wire that is meant to be ground suddenly changes to 12v and the head unit shuts off or gets toasted.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: stereo doesnt work with lights on.
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 6:14 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 13

Joined: 10th Apr 2008

Ride: falcon

Location: mackay
QLD, Australia

yer well i work at an auto elec and the amount of times we have repaired dodged up headunit instals
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: stereo doesnt work with lights on.
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 8:36 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 54

Joined: 7th May 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Mona Vale
NSW, Australia

Stone wrote:
Speaker wire levels are to high to get the massive interference you mentioned from having a power wire next to them and there's no way a wire running near it would cause protection mode.

philfree is onto it... A lot of people measure the dimmer wire (dash lights) as 0v because no one wires a stereo up with the lights off... Then when they turn the lights on, the wire that is meant to be ground suddenly changes to 12v and the head unit shuts off or gets toasted.


well i ran the cables separate from each other and the problem wasnt there anymore so thats what i assumed it was
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: stereo doesnt work with lights on.
Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:22 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 383

Joined: 11th Aug 2006

Ride: 6.0L VE Calais-V

Location: Hastings
VIC, Australia

Jakel123 wrote:
Stone wrote:
Speaker wire levels are to high to get the massive interference you mentioned from having a power wire next to them and there's no way a wire running near it would cause protection mode.

philfree is onto it... A lot of people measure the dimmer wire (dash lights) as 0v because no one wires a stereo up with the lights off... Then when they turn the lights on, the wire that is meant to be ground suddenly changes to 12v and the head unit shuts off or gets toasted.


well i ran the cables separate from each other and the problem wasnt there anymore so thats what i assumed it was

You must have a bad contact somewhere then because electromagnetic interference to a speaker wire cannot cause a head unit to go into protection mode.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:26 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names