Fordmods Logo

Stereo Install Q's 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Stereo Install Q's
Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 1:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 509

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: '05 5.4L BA MK2 XT

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hey hey all, finally getting my system in today!!
quick question, capacitors are installed in series with the amp right ?
battery into cap into amp into subs...

this is gunna be sweet :)

Also, the guys that built my box installed 16 guage cable to both the subs (600w RMS type R's), is this ok or should i put bigger cable in ?
I asked him and he said its all for wank factor, the coil wire is smaller then a 16 guage... but its going to have 600-1200RMS pumping through it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 4:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 509

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: '05 5.4L BA MK2 XT

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

bump!
gettin towards mounting the cap, need to know soon :|
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 4:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 775

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XT Series 2

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

yeah that is right for the cap.
I would use bigger wire to be safe as long as its not 2 hard 2 change.

 

_________________

Stage 1 stereo install done. Pics in audio section.
Next step is probably a nice exhaust or stage 2 stereo.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 10:33 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

yes as mentioned that wiring for the cap is right

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 11:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2396

Joined: 25th Sep 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Da Maverick & xe ute

Location: Upper FTG. melbourne
VIC, Australia

use larger for ur sub, 10 gu sounds nice :D so long as ur terminals can fit it :D haha and yea ur caps rite, just make sure u get the polarities rite, cos its a polarised electrolytic, ie bat 2 + amp + 2 cap - then it shud b sweet, ne way have fun

 

_________________

Mods: sprint kit, steeda short shift, svo lip, El handles, El Air intake, au xr wheels, lukey cat back, jbl focal and pioneer sterio <--- Sold

Xe ute - Bright green with 302

Da maverick - Straight gas turbo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:45 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

If someone wants a larger cap i am selling one brand new 5 farad for $345, retail is over $900

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

thats not how my cap is wired up. Mine is wired a different way. I have my power cable going into a distribution block. Then from that one wire goes to the cap. then the other two on the distribution block go to each amp. Then it is just earthed at the same point as the amps. please tell me that is right....f**k fuses are gonna blow (not the car fuses) if its wrong.


Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 11:36 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 334

Joined: 7th May 2005

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i don't know about car audio capacitors but the ones i learnt about at TAFE must be in parallel to the amps otherwise when they release charge it will be running backwards through the amp!

Rhyso

 

_________________

BA XT, typhoon intake, K&N filter, XR 17" wheels, red/black brakes, Ford scuff plates

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

rhysy_boi wrote:
i don't know about car audio capacitors but the ones i learnt about at TAFE must be in parallel to the amps otherwise when they release charge it will be running backwards through the amp!

Rhyso


Well thats how mine is installed...but my dash lights still dim pretty hard so i think i will be running another wire from the body to the ground on the battery.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 775

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XT Series 2

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

No DMac dont think that is right. The cap needs to be in series to work.

 

_________________

Stage 1 stereo install done. Pics in audio section.
Next step is probably a nice exhaust or stage 2 stereo.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 9:52 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

well i followed the instruction book with the setup. i originally thought series as well. The only thing dodgy about the setup is that my clsuter lights still dim when its cranked up and the bass hits. I will see if running another ground cablefrom the body to the battery helps. Otherwise will have to look into it with the car audio shop.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 775

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XT Series 2

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

If the cap is not in series then it wont do anything for the amp at all. it basically stores charge for the amp on big hits

 

_________________

Stage 1 stereo install done. Pics in audio section.
Next step is probably a nice exhaust or stage 2 stereo.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hmmm....i have run a another earth cable and the courtesy light dont seem to dim as much but still have to find out about this series crap cos now its starting to get at me that it may be wrong.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:58 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 46

Joined: 4th Jul 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Should all clusters/lights dim on peak power? re: high bass....
Carlos,

 

_________________

FPV & XR OWNERS CLUB OF VICTORIA

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 8:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 775

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XT Series 2

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

no they should not dim at all

 

_________________

Stage 1 stereo install done. Pics in audio section.
Next step is probably a nice exhaust or stage 2 stereo.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:41 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names