Fordmods Logo

stock headunit to premo h.u 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: stock headunit to premo h.u
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 3:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

okay
i currently have the stock ef head unit...
im about to buy the EF Premium sounds head unit (or what ever its called)
the double din one...


any ways...
Image
that #1 wire thingy that they are pointing too.
is that the same plug as on the gli head unit.... all i have to do is add more wires onto it...
or is it a totally different wires alltogether (im only talking about the Premium Sound System Plug 1 - Main Wiring Plug, the 10 wire plug thing.. #1 on the picture)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 10:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 844

Joined: 23rd Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: FBT

Location: Nth East
VIC, Australia

Yeah it is and you dont need to add any new wires

 

_________________

"12 yards long, two lanes wide, 65 tonnes of american pride" Fairlane
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 11, 2005 1:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

how do the rear speakers connect to the stock head unit?

because once i install premo.... i dont need them wires any more do i?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 11, 2005 2:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

more newbie questions
we all know i dont know s**t
so when i do this i wanna make sure its ok....

all i have to do is install it
and run thoguht the amp cable

connect/aquire these cables
# Premium Sound System Plug 3 - DSP Power Plug
This plug is located on the lower deck, just left of the CD Stacker Connector. It is a 3 Pin Plug, with 2 wires coming from it. The function and colour of these wires are,
# 1) Black - Battery Ground (Negative (-) Power)
# 2) Dark Green / Yellow - Battery Power (Positive (+) Power)

and run thoruhg the stacker cable if i can get one... or wait till i get one..

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 11, 2005 2:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 844

Joined: 23rd Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: FBT

Location: Nth East
VIC, Australia

Its bloody easy dude. You will have to run power wires to the bottom part of the head unit as well ( I just tapped off the cigarette lighter). I had to extend the rca cables that run to the amp, but all the power wires for it where already located in the boot as I had a fairmont ( dont know about your gli). If you arent going to get a stacker, the s**t sub and the amp then I wouldnt worry about the headunit.

 

_________________

"12 yards long, two lanes wide, 65 tonnes of american pride" Fairlane
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 8:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

chunkz wrote:
how do the rear speakers connect to the stock head unit?

because once i install premo.... i dont need them wires any more do i?


The rear speakers come off a seperate plug. On the basic and mid series head units, it looks an awful lot like that black plug next to the white "5" one but it's probably a lot different due to the outboard amplification of the rears in the premo system.

Also, on the subject of stackers, don't waste time or money finding a genuine Ford one - go to an Alpine dealer and have them fit something like a CHA-S634. It'll hook straight up (with a couple of adaptors) and you'll gain MP3 playback too. I have one in my Fairmont and it's great.

Speaking of, I've been thinking seriously about putting the premo system in my Fairmont lately however because it's a wagon I'm at something of a loss as to how to fit it all in. The front isn't a problem as the wiring is the same as in the sedan (are the speakers as well?) but it's the rear I'm worried about. Will the coaxial speakers in the premo system drop straight in to the holes in my tailgate? What about the sub, how should I go about putting that in?

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:00 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names