Fordmods Logo

Sub Amp Not Enough Power? 

 

Page 5 of 6 [ 76 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Sat May 15, 2010 10:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 1109

Joined: 4th Sep 2009

Ride: 92 EB s

Location: DORRIGO
NSW, Australia

Taking the piss right.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Sat May 15, 2010 10:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

No, I am dead serious, I had 2 RF Punch 40's (2x20wrms) running of 1ga cable with 5 Autosound 2000 .12F stiffening caps (that was all that was available back then).
Worked a treat, very little voltage drop....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 5:01 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 184

Joined: 19th Oct 2009

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ok well the time has come that i MUST do the wiring tomorrow. As now i have no amp and sub amp working as the wires that i joined them to has "fused together". So yea kinda dangerous at the moment seems it keeps tripping the fuse :S . Im just after a cheap way to make my "mono have its full potential of power and same for rear speakers amp. I've now changed my mono to a West Coast Orion 800W amp that sounds f**kn better than the kenwood 1000w, but same problem not enough power. The rear speakers amp is just a crappy powervox so called 4 channel 1400w(yet states thats it only 50wrms, so figure that lol), but im hoping to be upgrading it soon. So now all i want is to know what guage wire exactly i need and if i should split the cable or run 2 cables from the battery?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 5:12 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

single 4 gauge, fuse close to battery (very important), distribution block in the boot.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 5:14 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 184

Joined: 19th Oct 2009

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
single 4 gauge, fuse close to battery (very important), distribution block in the boot.


whats the distribution block?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 5:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

94edfutura wrote:
Steady ED wrote:
single 4 gauge, fuse close to battery (very important), distribution block in the boot.


whats the distribution block?


http://tinyurl.com/33u4tmd

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 5:21 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

picture says a thousand words!
Image

1 cable in, 2 (or more) cables out.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 5:39 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

thats nifty krisisdog... How do you do that?

Or better still you go for a fused one that way (say you run 2x 8gauges out of it) then each is fused to 50 amps rather than 110 so if that piece of 8 gauge shorts out it blows only its 50 amp fuse, and that 50 will blow before it gets too hot, whereas the 110amp main fuse will take much longer to blow... Its what us electricians call discrimination...

http://www.google.com/products/catalog? ... CUQ8gIwAw#

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 5:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

http://www.lmgtfy.com

everyone is now using it LOL

cheers bear

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 5:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

timmytimtim wrote:
thats nifty krisisdog... How do you do that?


Its been done a few times on here lately by some other members.. google it lol.

Only problem with fused distros is that they can be pretty exxy, when I was looking for a 0g in block with fuses, they were ridiculously priced. It was far cheaper to buy a separate fuse box for each cable, so I did! 0g into a block (0g fused in engine bay, ~200amp), a 4g and an 8g out of the distro, each fused a few inches out of the block.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 6:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

hey krisisdog

off topic question how do you do the build thread in you sig as i can only work out how to put a url in

i want mine to come up as Bear's Build Thread

cheers bear

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 6:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Not sure if it'll come out properly here but anyway:

[url=http://whatever it is.com /] then you call it whatever you want in here


then finish it with [/url] straight after it.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 6:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

krisisdog wrote:
Not sure if it'll come out properly here but anyway:

[url=http://whatever it is.com /] then you call it whatever you want in here


then finish it with [/url] straight after it.

thanx for that krisisdog

cheers bear

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 10:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 1109

Joined: 4th Sep 2009

Ride: 92 EB s

Location: DORRIGO
NSW, Australia

I got a stinger 2 4gauge into 4 8gauge if anyone needs one. $15.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Tue May 18, 2010 6:03 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 184

Joined: 19th Oct 2009

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Well all is done now. Went and got 4 guage wiring and one of them stinger splitter things. All is a treat now much much better sound quality too, so the amp must have been really underpowered. Ill post some pics up soon
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 5 of 6  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 12:50 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names