Fordmods Logo

Sub And Amp 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

Post subject: Sub And Amp
Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: Xr6 Turbo

VIC, Australia

g'day guys looking at getting a sub for the falcon as i think the 4 speakers just arn't enough. iv'e had this topic before and i want it to go into the parcel shelf. so something like this http://www.pioneer.com.au/Products/Car% ... W841D.aspx now the question is. is that free to air as i cannot tell if it is or isnt and specs cannot work them out.

also an amp to power something like that. as i am a newbie to this sort of stuff. links and pic's would be great.

thanks in advance.

Previous cars

1995 ef futura - nothing special
2003 xr6 turbo 5 -speed 307rwkw

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:49 am 
Tyre Shredder

Ride: 6.0L VE Calais-V

VIC, Australia

That sub is made for a box. The recommended volume enclosure is 11L, so you could make a small box under the parcel shelf or find another sub that is made to be run FREE AIR.

The power rating of that sub is 120Wrms (500Wmax) and has a 4 ohm voice coil so you'd want an amp that makes around 100-150Wrms at 4 ohm. Most small 2 channel amps will do this easily when bridged. If you like Pioneer the GM-3300T makes 150Wrms x 1 at 4 ohm and would suit it perfectly.

I'd have to say that a single 8" sub in a large sedan isn't going to add all that much... It will help out the stock speakers but won't provide large amounts of bass.

Posted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Na fairlane, xe 351 ute

NSW, Australia

i beg to differ because its in the parcel tray it is twice as loud because there is no obstruction and it can rebound off the back window.

Futhermore i think all pioneer's main line of subs come both free to air and enclosed it will say it on the box. Strathfield used to sell them last i looked.

If you want to put it in the parcel tray then you MUST buy a free to air or mount a box underneath it

Current cars