Fordmods Logo

Sub in stock radio unit? 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 34 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:15 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 31st Mar 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ba 05 xr6 mkII

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

umm ok i will go have another look now. if u had places to just connect bulbs in the footwells i think u have a different model cause i couldnt find any in mine so i just went with neons :lol: haha

do u have a thread of ur car? would love to have a look at it :)

 

_________________

05 ba xr6 mkII

Mods: Re-spray, Interior LEDS, K&N air filter, 20" versus rims, SuperLow King springs all round, Monroe Gt shortened rear shocks, 2.5" XFORCE Catback mild steel exhaust with twin 3" tips

The Garage: http://www.fordmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=106741

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 31st Mar 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ba 05 xr6 mkII

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

ok so i went looking for it and this is what i have.....

Image

left hand side of the boot

Image

Image

found the hole for the sub, but no cables :(

Image

thanks for ur help :)

 

_________________

05 ba xr6 mkII

Mods: Re-spray, Interior LEDS, K&N air filter, 20" versus rims, SuperLow King springs all round, Monroe Gt shortened rear shocks, 2.5" XFORCE Catback mild steel exhaust with twin 3" tips

The Garage: http://www.fordmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=106741

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Sadly you have some work ahead of you.Thanks just the same.All the best.

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:24 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 45

Joined: 1st Mar 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BFII XR6T / EF GLI project

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

The lump in the carpet wont be there unless you have the premium sound system

 

_________________

BFII XR6T - Conquer - K&N Pod Filter - Baby seat and Elmo sun shades!!!
EF Gli - 2.5" zorst NOW WITH CLOCK

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:37 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 31st Mar 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ba 05 xr6 mkII

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

haha ok thanks guys! really appreciate it :) so any suggestions on what to do then?? does this mean i need to get an aftermarket unit?

also to just get more bass, can i just get better speakers on the back parcel shelf, if i dont want to go the full aftermarket system??

 

_________________

05 ba xr6 mkII

Mods: Re-spray, Interior LEDS, K&N air filter, 20" versus rims, SuperLow King springs all round, Monroe Gt shortened rear shocks, 2.5" XFORCE Catback mild steel exhaust with twin 3" tips

The Garage: http://www.fordmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=106741

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 2:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Turbo Jimmy wrote:
The lump in the carpet wont be there unless you have the premium sound system

I don't have premium sound,but everything is available.

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:45 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 31st Mar 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ba 05 xr6 mkII

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

would u possibly be able to take some pics kwaussiekid of where all of ur wires were?? would be much appreciated :)

 

_________________

05 ba xr6 mkII

Mods: Re-spray, Interior LEDS, K&N air filter, 20" versus rims, SuperLow King springs all round, Monroe Gt shortened rear shocks, 2.5" XFORCE Catback mild steel exhaust with twin 3" tips

The Garage: http://www.fordmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=106741

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Cam,PM me with your email address,and I will send a selection of photos.

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:10 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 31st Mar 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ba 05 xr6 mkII

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

ohh hahah ok i see the lump and stuff ur talking about, definately dont have that hahah is it still difficult to hook up just a sub to the stock system then do u know? i cant be bothered spending all the money on an aftermarket one just yet.....

thanks for ur help :)

 

_________________

05 ba xr6 mkII

Mods: Re-spray, Interior LEDS, K&N air filter, 20" versus rims, SuperLow King springs all round, Monroe Gt shortened rear shocks, 2.5" XFORCE Catback mild steel exhaust with twin 3" tips

The Garage: http://www.fordmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=106741

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Cam,sadly I have no idea with modern cars.I modified my EB, sound wise to within an inch of its life,and was easy.

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:25 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 31st Mar 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ba 05 xr6 mkII

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

haha yeh all good :) thanks heaps for the help, ill keep trying with it, and if i get around to doing anything ill put some pics up and show...

cheers

 

_________________

05 ba xr6 mkII

Mods: Re-spray, Interior LEDS, K&N air filter, 20" versus rims, SuperLow King springs all round, Monroe Gt shortened rear shocks, 2.5" XFORCE Catback mild steel exhaust with twin 3" tips

The Garage: http://www.fordmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=106741

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:30 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 23

Posts: 17

Joined: 15th Oct 2010

Ride: Falcon EbII S

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

CamJam wrote:
ohh hahah ok i see the lump and stuff ur talking about, definately dont have that hahah is it still difficult to hook up just a sub to the stock system then do u know? i cant be bothered spending all the money on an aftermarket one just yet.....

thanks for ur help :)


You can also just run a Line level converter which converts the rear speaker wires to RCA signal wires. Then just do a normal install of sub and amp. This also enables you to return it to factory at any time easily. You will still need to run a power wire from the battery to the boot though
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 9:47 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 31st Mar 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ba 05 xr6 mkII

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

so how would i run the cable from the engine bay, all the way to the boot?? and how much would that cost?

 

_________________

05 ba xr6 mkII

Mods: Re-spray, Interior LEDS, K&N air filter, 20" versus rims, SuperLow King springs all round, Monroe Gt shortened rear shocks, 2.5" XFORCE Catback mild steel exhaust with twin 3" tips

The Garage: http://www.fordmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=106741

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:08 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 23

Posts: 17

Joined: 15th Oct 2010

Ride: Falcon EbII S

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

CamJam wrote:
so how would i run the cable from the engine bay, all the way to the boot?? and how much would that cost?

You need to run a power cable through the firewall (if your car is Auto there is a grommet on the driver side which is used for the clutch cable in manuals) then take scuff panels off and run it under the carpet all the way to the boot.
You will also need to run a small cable from a power source which is only turned on when the radio or ignition is on (remote turn on wire) also to the boot.
Then you need to find a secure earthing point, scratch back the pain to bare metal, and attach your earth wire there (often rear seat bolts can be used).
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:19 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 23

Posts: 17

Joined: 15th Oct 2010

Ride: Falcon EbII S

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

The wiring kit price varies depending on the brand, quality and thickness of the cable.
Thicker cable usually = lower resistance and potential for a bigger powered system in the future.
I would recommend 4ga wiring kit such as this one:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NEW-TSUNAMI- ... 45fbca5fcf
4ga can take up to approx 1500WRMS amplifier which is a fair bit depending on the system's use.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 12:47 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names