Fordmods Logo

Sub Issues 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Sub Issues
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 3:02 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Driving along this afternoon, my sub suddenly cut out. Had a quick look and couldnt spot the problem so I went home and played around there. THe amp was in protection mode. So unscrewed the sub and couldnt find any noticeable problems but all of a sudden it was working.

Drove to work, sub worked fine. Hopped in to go home and it stopped working again halfway through a song.

Any ideas why my sub just cuts out? Connections are all correct it just cuts out.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 3:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

If the amp is in protection mode, then it has overloaded, which means you need to get the amp checked out to fix the problem, so that the amp will work fine again. :)

Im not sure if all amps are generally the same when it comes to this but yeah its not good when the amp goes into protection mode.

Good luck.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 10:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1954

Joined: 13th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: eb falcon s series 2

Location: on welfare
NSW, Australia

whats the weather like up there?


my mum has 2 cadence Z series amps in the boot and a 12" W3 v2 and when u open the boot its really hot in there


so on hot days after about 2-3 hours of non stop music the amps will cut out and the sub will stop working (amp overheating)


jkust turn the system off for 30 mins to 1 hour and it will work again.

 

_________________

‮‮

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 12:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 967

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: TE50

Location: Brisvegas
QLD, Australia

your MUM has 2 x cadence and a W3 in her boot????

Geeez

What he says is right tho.....rig up a 12v computer fan near the amps and all your heating woes will dissapear

 

_________________

Formerly SpuDEF

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 12:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Yes but some amps require manual shutoff of the protection mode, which means you need to go to a decent audio place, and get them to fix it up for ya. Would usually cost about $50-$100, some are like this thou. It might pay to work out some sort of cooling system for your amp now, go buy a CPU fan or something so atleast it has some type of cooling.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 1:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

what kind of amp is it the cheaper ones boss etc cut out if they get to hot, depends how uch of a nasty time you gave it to
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 1:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Rapier wrote:
what kind of amp is it the cheaper ones boss etc cut out if they get to hot, depends how uch of a nasty time you gave it to


Most amps will go into protection mode if they get too hot, esspecially if they dont have sufficent cooling regardless of the brand... However some amps do have inbuilt cooling fans :)

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 3:01 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

OK didnt think of that. Its a USAudio amp, mounted between the back of the box and the back seat so a fair bit of heat there. How would I rig up a CPU fan?

When i ahd a quick look last night it wasnt in protection mode but no sub action.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 7:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

twirqurky wrote:
OK didnt think of that. Its a USAudio amp, mounted between the back of the box and the back seat so a fair bit of heat there. How would I rig up a CPU fan?

When i ahd a quick look last night it wasnt in protection mode but no sub action.


Sure your amp isnt completly buggered now? Does the power on light come on at all? If not then you might just want to check things like remote on/off cable at the back of the HU.. That may be loose so the amp might be constantly turning on and off. Check the amp fuse and the other one which should be located in the engine bay they may have blown.

Thier might be something going on with the sub as well... Might have to take it out of the box and have a quick look to see if everything seems fine.

But yeah just check those things out and see what you find, then let us know how you went with it.

Good luck

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 8:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 1494

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA MkII XT Wagon

Location: Maitland
NSW, Australia

amps will also cut out like this if they have a bad earth connection!

so try connecting ur earth to something with bare metal, no paint or anything on it, it mite be the prob

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 9:18 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 212

Joined: 16th Jun 2005

Ride: xd v8 vortech!!!

Location: Blacktown,Sydney NSW 2148
NSW, Australia

The AMP may have a short in it? If so all it takes is a bump in the road to short the unit out!! :?:

 

_________________

tubed and blown XD ute here u come!! yahoooo!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 10:57 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Amp has power.

Cheap DVD HU so no remote cable but we rigged it up somehow.

Fuse is fine.

dUNNO MIGHT BE THE OVERHEATING.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 11:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I used to have a couple of these amps and I use to cook them all the time - they just don't like heat these things. Not necessarily the case here though cause yours cuts out even are small amount of use. I'd completely check all wiring, even if theres one little dodgy bit of wiring which there usually is, i'd overhaul the whole thing.

Rigging up a cpu fan is easy, they run off 12volts, just need to earch it and run it off accessory wire that you run your amp off so it comes on when amp comes on - only thing you have to do is decide where to mount it!!!

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 11:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Yeah when mounting the fan be sure to place it so it will allow for MAXIMUM air to be flowing both the cool air and the hot air... Might even need to place ithe amp in a better area.. the more hot air that gets blown away the better the amp will be, as it will stay cooler for longer. This will also increase the life of the amp as well.. :)

Did you check the earth for the amp as well?

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 7:10 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

If its ioverheating, why ahs it jsut started now?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:15 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names