Fordmods Logo

Sub's on Stock Headunit? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Sub's on Stock Headunit?
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 12:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 573

Joined: 27th Apr 2006

Ride: BA XT FALCON (2003)

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

Hi guys,

I was wondering if you are able to hook an amp into a stock headunit and run a sub off of that... i have the XT Ba headunit with all the climate control inbuilt to the head unit. am i able to add to that?

i hoped there is RCA output on it

Cheers

Josh
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 12:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

there isnt an RCA output, but you can use line lever coverters i think they are called, they plug into your speaker outputs and turn them into RCA's

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 2:46 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

supposedly doing that is not good for ur amp since those speaker wires are run from the amp in the HU. so another words ur amplifying and amplified signal...and not healthy for ur aftermarket amp. just my 2c

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 4:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 573

Joined: 27th Apr 2006

Ride: BA XT FALCON (2003)

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

yeah i know what you mean...

then when you turn the car of you would get a pop through the speakers when the purge out the extra power... well i would think at least. cause my PC used to do that
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 4:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

phongus wrote:
supposedly doing that is not good for ur amp since those speaker wires are run from the amp in the HU. so another words ur amplifying and amplified signal...and not healthy for ur aftermarket amp. just my 2c

phong =P~

a line level convertor drops speaker level signals back down to a level that an amp would be happy with

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 5:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 573

Joined: 27th Apr 2006

Ride: BA XT FALCON (2003)

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

well i'll check with my cousin. he is an auto elec. so he might have a idea to get around it.

I was just curious if there was RCA outs
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 5:34 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i have ran two pioneer 12" by an 800w amp from one of these converter things, worked rather well, seemed to cause some distortion when the volume was up high.

idd just get a cheapish head unit, rather than using the stock one.

p.s. theres no rca on e-series, not sure bout b-series but i severly doubt it.

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 6:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

you should've turned the gaisn down a little on your amps, that should've fixed the "distortion"

cant replace the HU in a BA without a lot of f**k arounf with a custom mounted HU elsewhere in the dash

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 8:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 2159

Joined: 15th Nov 2005

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: TS40

Location: Latrobe Valley
VIC, Australia

my old amp (rockwood Xplore) had a hi level input on it(never tried it tho)... it said if the H/U has no RCA output to hook the speaker wire up 2 them (also dont have to pull the dash apart just conect them to parcel shelf speakers)

 

_________________

Was - 2001 AUIII Ford Falcon Forte
Genuine T2 TS50 bodykit, 18" BF Cobras, Boge and Eibach Suspension and Complete AU2 Fairmont Ghia Interior

Now - 2012 FG Mk2 Ford Falcon XR6
Swift Green,6 Speed Auto, Stock... and a Fuel Card :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 10:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1298

Joined: 4th Apr 2006

Ride: BA 3v ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Just got that setup on my ba ute

stock head unit > hi lo converter > amp > sub+splits

Few things, dont get a cheap hi/lo, there is a L6 one for about $300 which gives you your front rear and sub, also turns the amp on and off when the radio is switch on and off and cuts out noise.

With mine i hear the pop when starting my car, i dont really get any noise when playing cds though it is possible to. If your going to do it that way my advice would be to get the L6 hi/lo

 

_________________

www.bseries.com.au/punktured

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 11, 2006 2:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

Now from memory, on the drivers side, there is a side pannel (right side of centre console, left leg) I think this folds away and you will see a few different connectors. I think one is phone mute, one is amp, and one is something else. Dont quote me on this but try it. Ill ask my friend where exactly it is. But have a look.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 24, 2006 12:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 573

Joined: 27th Apr 2006

Ride: BA XT FALCON (2003)

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

sweet as i'll have a look tonight
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 25, 2006 9:48 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

They are called low level convertors or LOC's.

if you buy a good quality one you will have no problem, Stinger make one and so do DNE (David Navone Engineering)

Stinger ones are availabel everywhere stinger is sold and are $119. David navone ones are about the same i think and can be ordered direct from him in the USA via his website (which is how i bougt mine)
Or through Car Audio Ausrtalia, @ caraudioaustralia.com then shop

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 25, 2006 1:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1013

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: MY06 REX

Location: Perthoslavakia
WA, Australia

I did what you are asking about - the only trick is to get the amp to switch on and off with accessories. Run the remote line from the amp to the cigarette lighter power cable.
I just went a cheap and nasty line convertor, run off the back speakers. Because it is a sub it sounds fine. If I was adding splits I probably would have spent a bit more on the line convertor - but I already got splits with the premium sound... (and a sub, but it was crap)

 

_________________

The Evil Strawberry

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:49 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names