Fordmods Logo

Subwoofer installation into BA 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Subwoofer installation into BA
Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:23 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 258

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: '98 EL XR8

Location: Katherine
NT, Australia

Hey guys

I've just recently bought a BA, and I was wondering what is the best way to install a amplifier.

Should I just run the high inputs into the amp??

Or is there another way to get a Line Out from the head unit????

Any help appreciated.

 

_________________

"...we can rebuild him, we have the technology... we just dont want to spend a lot of money."
SIX MILLION PESO FALCON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

if your amp has high level inputs, use them, if not, use a line level converter

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:04 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 258

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: '98 EL XR8

Location: Katherine
NT, Australia

Where can i find a line converter? And whats an approx. cost??

 

_________________

"...we can rebuild him, we have the technology... we just dont want to spend a lot of money."
SIX MILLION PESO FALCON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 728

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: ba falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

cost varies i got mine for $25 got quoted $55 for an alpine one, im not too thrilled from the sound im getting atm.. is anyone getting good sound using the stock headunit. also i have the rear speakers also running of the two channel amp which as u can imagine doesnt work too well because the low pass filter. is there a better way of doing it without buying another amp ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 1:40 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 258

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: '98 EL XR8

Location: Katherine
NT, Australia

Okay, I got the line converter ($55 Alpine), amp and sub in, and I have run the power cable through the firewall, through the lower trim panels to the boot.

The only problem I have now is finding an accessory wire for the 'remote' connection to the converter and amp!

What is the easiest source for an accessory wire? I have no idea with the BA as I have no wiring schematics?

Should/can I pull the driver fuse panel off and find a wire that way????

Also, in the BA, what location is a good ground location in the boot as I have looked and cant find any bolts.

Help!

 

_________________

"...we can rebuild him, we have the technology... we just dont want to spend a lot of money."
SIX MILLION PESO FALCON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 10:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 967

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: TE50

Location: Brisvegas
QLD, Australia

I normaly use the cigarette lighter, only comes on with ignition so is perfect....not too sure if its easy to get tho, i havent pulled apart a BA yet

 

_________________

Formerly SpuDEF

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 10:40 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Lukieman wrote:
....What is the easiest source for an accessory wire? I have no idea with the BA as I have no wiring schematics?....
....Also, in the BA, what location is a good ground location in the boot as I have looked and cant find any bolts.....

I'd go for cigarette ligher personally, like SpudEF said. Should be easy to find and splice into.
As for a ground, anywhere theres metal!
Just file/sand the paint back to bare metal, and find a way to connect your earth cable.
I like bolts.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:15 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1

Joined: 4th Aug 2005

Ride: BA XR6 Man

Location: Seaford
VIC, Australia

I have a BA XR6 sedan with 2 12inch subs, (which I want to sell the box & subs)

as other people have said the cigarette ligher is the best source for remote power, just find the Fuse for the cigarette ligher and splice the wire about 50mm from the fuse, the only problem is you lose your keyless play feature. I haven't found the power source to the display screen yet
and the Ground line can be fitted anywhere in the boot, just take care where you drill or mount it...

and if anyone is interested or after in a twin 12inch sub box with kenwood 1200W subs let me know..

Kyle
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 5:34 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 43

Joined: 22nd Mar 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon BA xr6

Location: Darwin
NT, Australia

Hi
I have a BA xr6 and have 2 12 inch alphine subbies in the boot. I had the preimum sound pack in mine, replaced the amp they supplied with a much better one and stole the wires in the back speakers to use for the subs. I had to do this because there are to many filters adn we couldnt find them. I had to also install a switch to turn the subs on and off as they didn't turn off when the power was cut. I am extremely happy with the outcome as if I dont want the subbies on i can listen to music with just the speakers. I haven't changed any of the original speakers and can turn the music up extremely loud.

 

_________________

Specs: BA Xr6, Stat Nav, Preimum Audio, 2 x Alphine Type R 12inch subs, 18inch alloys, sunrooof, colour screen, front grill, sports exhaust 2.5" and extractors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 6:33 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 258

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: '98 EL XR8

Location: Katherine
NT, Australia

Hey all...

I ended up getting the remote wire from the cigarette lighter (its easy to do if you've installed the aux. input cable). And I found a bolt behind the rear drivers side seat, not sure what it holds up, but its a good earth.

The whole lot works good! Just need a bigger sub and amp. next!

Thanks for your help fellas!

 

_________________

"...we can rebuild him, we have the technology... we just dont want to spend a lot of money."
SIX MILLION PESO FALCON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 6:36 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 258

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: '98 EL XR8

Location: Katherine
NT, Australia

Hey 'Blood Orange XR', I'm from Darwin myself? What part are you from?

 

_________________

"...we can rebuild him, we have the technology... we just dont want to spend a lot of money."
SIX MILLION PESO FALCON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 10:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 967

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: TE50

Location: Brisvegas
QLD, Australia

So does it sound ok with the line converter? I have always wondered if they sound ok? wouldnt be as good as a pure RCA line i imagine??

 

_________________

Formerly SpuDEF

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:46 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names