Fordmods Logo

This is doing my head in! 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: This is doing my head in!
Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 11:56 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 161

Joined: 20th Jul 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XR6 and ZD Fairlane

Location: Melbourne
QLD, Australia

ok here goes i am getting some serious interferance through my speakers i have tried everything from trying different ground points to changing wires, i dont know what to do!!! oh and i havent run the power and rca cables next too each other they are on the seprate sides of the car.
thanks guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 5:41 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 84

Joined: 21st Jan 2005

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Is the interference like a high pitch sound? If it is, it may be your alternator or faulty amp. I had the same noise in my EB and it was a faulty amp causing the noise.

 

_________________

In hope we believe... but in God we trust...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 6:26 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Isn't a Pioneer headunit is it?

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 7:47 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11738

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
Isn't a Pioneer headunit is it?


...what's wrong with Pioneer...=(...I've got one

Well I have that interference high pitch sound too...but I play the music loud enough to drown it out.

It could be:

A) Head unit putting out the buzzing noise...
B) Cable is picking up signal along the way to the boot...
C) Amp is hobo...

I have put my interference down to the Amp since I just bought a new head unit (yes a Pioneer) and it has the interference noise coming through...though it also happened with my previous head unit.

Initially when I got the amp new, it didn't have that issue but I guess over time the amp will have some faults. Get the Amp checked out.

Hope that helps a little.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 10:52 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 161

Joined: 20th Jul 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XR6 and ZD Fairlane

Location: Melbourne
QLD, Australia

Yeah nah not pioneer i learnt my lesson with them lol i have one of the high end kenwoods when i bought it last year, its just so frustrating, when wipers go on the noise is worse, starting to really annoy the crap outa me. thanks for your help guys.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 12:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

It is a ground loop, not the alternator, most likely not the head unit and most likely not the amp so it will most likely be the grounding of the headunit and or the grounding of the amp/amps.
More info will be needed about the system to help diagnose the fault...

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 7:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

I had that with my old pioneer, and when you turned the wipers on it got worse too. Blown RCA track fuse on the HU.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:37 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 161

Joined: 20th Jul 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XR6 and ZD Fairlane

Location: Melbourne
QLD, Australia

ok my set up basically consists of kenwood 1000w mono some no name 4 channel and the kenwood head unit. the two amps are mounted on the back seats and are grounded at extreme opposite sidesof the car to the bolts that hold the seats in. the head unit is wired in with those adapter kits you can buy, save you cutting everything. RCA's and speakr wire run down the left ofthe car while the power run down the right. so thats all i can think of atm, if you guys could help me id appreciate it. cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:51 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 197

Joined: 5th Jun 2007

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: AUIII XR6 HP

Power: 137 rwkw

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

Get an inline noise surpressor from jaycar

 

_________________

PACEMAKER 4480, SS H/F CAT, 2.5" REDBACK, INTAKE PIPING, K&N PANEL, PIONEER TV

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 8:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

My bet is it will be the 4ch amp causing you the drama but I would try different grounds for the head unit, what type of rca cables are you using?

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:11 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 161

Joined: 20th Jul 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XR6 and ZD Fairlane

Location: Melbourne
QLD, Australia

oh k i have one of those noise suppressor things and still didnt do anything, ill try the different ground points for the head unit aswell, the wiring i bought in kits so the RCA's are aero pro. if it is my 4ch then do i replace it???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 1880

Joined: 22nd Apr 2005

Ride: ED Futura

Location: Seymour
VIC, Australia

Try running a ground wire directly from the Headunit to the dash support.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 2:11 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

krisisdog wrote:
I had that with my old pioneer, and when you turned the wipers on it got worse too. Blown RCA track fuse on the HU.

Yup, that was the fault I was referring too, happened to one of my headunits, and happened twice to a mate of mine.
Moot point anyway, unless kenwoods have the same problem?

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 2:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Use a thicker wire & directly grounding it to the battery. helped my AU.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

What size cable do you have your system running off, plus is the head unit running off the factory head unit wiring?
I had 8ga cable feeding my head unit for both batt and ground connected to the same distro block and fuse block as the amps to eliminate ground loops before they started but all it did was give me a ground loop. I ended up connecting the head unit to the factory wiring and that solved my problem...

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:29 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names