trying to figure how to install aftermarket head unit 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Post subject: trying to figure how to install aftermarket head unit
Posted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 4:42 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: Falcon 97 EL wagon

VIC, Australia

Hi guys,

I'm very new to all this and have been searching for ages for info on how to install an aftermarket head unit into my 97 EL wagon. I've gathered from other threads there is a wiring diagram somewhere here but i'll be darned if i can find it. Anyone have it or possibly be able to privide the link?

I've never installed a stereo before and have been getting scraps of info here n there but nothing concrete (maybe i'm not searching properly). Any tips on how to remove the stock stereo and install either a single or double din (if that's even possible) head unit in my EL would be massively appreciated. :D

Total noob..

Cheers
RDT

Post subject: Re: trying to figure how to install aftermarket head unit
Posted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 4:59 pm 
Smokin em up

SA, Australia

Go down to your local audio shop and they can sell you a loom to take you from the EL falcon stock loom to the standard colours used by all the Car Audio companies.

There are 2 options from here, use another loom to go to you Pioneer, JVC etc plug or just use the loom that came in the head unit box and wire red to red, yellow to yellow etc to the first plug.

to get the head unit out of the EL, take the ashtray out, there is a little philips head screw in there. Then the surround just pulls off (be careful where the plastic is thin).

Behind this on a single DIN unit (non premium sound) you see 2 Torx screws
Like this
You will need to get hold of a set of these screwdrivers (can remember the exact size)

Take these out and the head unit will just slide out, then just line up (trial and error a bit) the holes for the new head unit.

MAKE SURE TO DISCONNECT YOUR BATTERY! :D

Posted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 5:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 3 images