Fordmods Logo

UHF CB Radios 

 

Page 4 of 4 [ 60 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 6:43 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 120

Joined: 3rd Jul 2005

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

i was looking at a uniden 5w model today, was 40 chan with an extra 20 programmable chans, the guy said you can program cop frequ's into it, does that mean you can transmit on those chans as well??

was $430 cant remember the model number.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 5:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

ch0c0 wrote:
Waggin, how nice is 25W of TX power :p


voids, if you hadve searched there are lots of old posts from waggin and i offering uniden radios at discounted rates for members.


haha yeah, i've got a Kenwood TK-880 love the power output, sounds a lot like waggin's one, I've set a car alarm off before with mine :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

does anyone know what kind of antenna you need for the uh013 etc standard uhf scanners?

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 12:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

for a UH013 its just a standard UHF transceiver aerial

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 829

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 2004 Mazda Tribute

Interceptor wrote:
for a UH013 its just a standard UHF transceiver aerial


Yep.
I've got a 3/6db Benelec thats Spring loaded at the bottom. Has an interchangable 6DB mast and a 3DB rubber stubby, (purportedly for City use but I just use the 6DB all the time... it works better)

One like this or a 6.5Db RFI whip would be good.
If you want something thats a little less conspicuous, and doesn't look like you've just blown in from the Deniliquin Ute Muster, :wink: You could do what Yobbo did and put a stubby aerial in your parcel shelf.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

i went to look at getting a cheap hand held last night but didnt like what they had on offer for the money i wanted to spend (im tight in only wanted to spend a hundred bucks) and ended up bying a digital set top box.

have decided that i will save up and get a car mounted UHF instead

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 740

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i thought you could only have a max of 5w on uhf cb?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: 7th Mar 2007

Ride: ED Pwnage Pwr!!

Location: onawhoopwhoop
SA, Australia

Ryan0001 wrote:
i thought you could only have a max of 5w on uhf cb?


yes that is correct ,but you can run more of course BUT try not to get caught

 

_________________

Adelaide Motorplex < Click on it! You know you want too!
ED HP AU XR6, Wade, T5, and all the usual stuff!

Quote:
Thats not the point *a**hole

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 740

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey a mate of mine has a GME 5W handheld radio, but its got an extra channel (41)

how does one go about getting an extra TX/RX channel installed? is there licensing and s**t involved??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: 7th Mar 2007

Ride: ED Pwnage Pwr!!

Location: onawhoopwhoop
SA, Australia

yeah some of the higher quality radios have extra room for more channels ,say for instance some of the GME 5W hadhelds.

A licence wouldn't be needed if he was just listening (like a scanner) but you would need a licence to transmit.

but then you would have to go thru licencing for the gear you got and pay for a private channelect ect and pay BIG $$$$$$ because you can't just transmit on someone elses channel ,then you would be in deep s**t

I prefer the 27Mhz radios because when the skip comes in you can talk to people across australia and somtimes the world.

Altho UHF is clearer,being an unlicenced band dropkicks are a dime a dozen,having said that there are a alot of good people out there but are hard to come by.

 

_________________

Adelaide Motorplex < Click on it! You know you want too!
ED HP AU XR6, Wade, T5, and all the usual stuff!

Quote:
Thats not the point *a**hole

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:48 pm 
SA Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1870

Joined: 14th Apr 2006

Ride: 1993 EBll xr6, 2003 ba xt

Power: 150 rwkw

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

i am using the uh015sx details found here


http://www.uniden.com.au/AUSTRALIA/p_uh015sx_index.asp

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 84,847 ebII.
2x clarion subs 1200w, 1x clarion amp 400w, pioneer headunit, 16x8 roh reflex.
Clear side, front indicators, White dials, trip computer, boot spoiler, K & N air filter.
35% tint, paint code (z) stark white, 3" crome nudge bar, Xh snorkle

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 1:59 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 120

Joined: 3rd Jul 2005

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

And a year old thread comes back to life :)

Any idea's where i can get some info on boosting the TX power of a gme TX4400?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

i think im going to go with the TX4400 for my Hilux

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 829

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 2004 Mazda Tribute

Well, we encourage people to do a search before asking questions to save the same question being asked a million times, don't we?

Can't b**ch about them asking new questions, and also b**ch about ancient thread mining! :-)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 1:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: 7th Mar 2007

Ride: ED Pwnage Pwr!!

Location: onawhoopwhoop
SA, Australia

W0rp3D wrote:
And a year old thread comes back to life :)

Any idea's where i can get some info on boosting the TX power of a gme TX4400?


Hummm,probably,with my old 3200 there was a small trimpot inside there somewhere.

You can usualy go upto 8watts but you would want to run a fan on the back of it or some dry ice lol

it WILL shorten the life of the radio tho but it can be done

oh and you can program extra channels into the 4400

 

_________________

Adelaide Motorplex < Click on it! You know you want too!
ED HP AU XR6, Wade, T5, and all the usual stuff!

Quote:
Thats not the point *a**hole

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 4  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:22 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names