Fordmods Logo

Using The Right Relay For Neons 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Using The Right Relay For Neons
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2282

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: ED Fairmont Ghia & EF XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hi, my g.f went out and bought 2x pink 8" neons for her lancer and of course wants me to wire them up.

my question is would a 5amp relay be suitable to run both neons.

any help is much appreciated

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:48 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 3

Joined: 17th Jun 2007

Ride: XR6 Manual

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

definately, if they are drawing more than 1 amp there would be something wrong with them
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:49 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

ohh she just calls them neons!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

How much do they actually draw in current? you may not even need a relay. A decent switch should be ok with adequate guage wiring.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 418

Joined: 23rd Jan 2005

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

yes i second that i find it hard to belive it would draw more than 120W (10a at 12v) any swich would do u want a spst swich rated at 10a which will be extremly easy to wore up just ask if u need help.
as for wiring what it comes with should be fine, also it illegal 2 drive with any light on xcept green and even than u can't see the tube just the glow (in qld anyway)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 418

Joined: 23rd Jan 2005

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.as ... &SUBCATID=
this will handle 20A or 240w at 12v.
also autobarn and every were else now stocks automotive swiches

thease should have 2 pins just cut the active on noen one end to one terminal and the end 2 the other terminal.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: KurtisEBear and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:29 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names