Fordmods Logo

VS headunit removal.. 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: VS headunit removal..
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 7:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 617

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU III XR8 347ci

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Sorry guys, i feel ashamed asking a question about a commodore on a ford site.. But my misses just wont leave me alone, & i dont wana disgrace myself by joining a holden site.. SO here goes.. :?

How the frig do you remove the head unit from a VS commodore?
I can't even remove the facia around the deck!

Any help guys would be greatful! as i dont know how much more nagging i can take?! :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 8:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

look every where for screws :P

cant be to much different from the falcon....
(remove ash tray, might be some in there)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 8:30 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

umm.. ive done it but it was a long time ago.. i remember it was a huge pain in the ring. good luck man
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 8:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 617

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU III XR8 347ci

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

chunkz wrote:
look every where for screws :P

cant be to much different from the falcon....
(remove ash tray, might be some in there)


lol, i wish that it was anywhere near as easy as my EL!
the ash tray in the VS is in the center console, so no screws behind there.
There arent any possible screw locations in the head unit facia surround, i dont think!?

Anyone know how to remove it?! :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 9:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 9:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 617

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU III XR8 347ci

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Interceptor wrote:
http://www.caraudioaustralia.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33138


Thanks for that link man!
Thats tells me EVERYTHING i need to know! Much appreciated!

Cheers guys! :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 10:36 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 384

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF Ute

Location: Narre Warren
VIC, Australia

yeah juss make sure u mark what screw you took out from where, everytime i take one apart i always come up 3 screws extra.

 

_________________

Explorers gone, bring on the ute.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 11:33 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 90

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EA II S-Pac

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Very frustrating, havnt done it for a while but it can be done.

Few tips:

2 screws in centre console bin, loosen or remove these,
remove surround fron gear shifter (i think theres some screws under there)
The whole centre console should slide back an inch or so.

Cant remember how but you also need to remove the aircon controls on the right hand side.

**Be careful when putting all screws back in, i had trouble accidentally dropping a couple down the pipes to the vents in the back...

Sorry, not completely detailed, and a bit sketchy but i hope it helps...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 5:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 617

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU III XR8 347ci

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

all done fellas!
works a treat too!
C**t of a job though! Frigan commodores! ..My EL only has 2 screws before you get to the deck in comparison to the commys frigan 20 or so!?

Oh well, least its all up & running now.. The winging/nagging has also stopped................ for a while anyway.. :?

Thanks for ur healp guys! :mrgreen:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

Helped a freind do this in his VS as well, we spent bloody hours, but still coudnt get it out. In the end we got it though. But nothing compares to another mate with a VL, had to litterally take apart his whole dash to get to it. Started at the left door and worked his way into the centre. Damn back mount screws!! No bastartd will ever steal it though!!

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 4370

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Karratha
WA, Australia

Bassfreak55 wrote:
Interceptor wrote:
http://www.caraudioaustralia.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33138



Thats tells me EVERYTHING i need to know! Much appreciated!



Tells you everything, except how to buy your mrs a Ford. 8-)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:53 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 63

Joined: 6th Jan 2005

Location: --
NSW, Australia

Ive also done this job on my mums VS commonwhore about a year ago. Took me and a friend prob about 2 hours to get to the headdeck. we had to start by pullin out the middle console inbetween the seat and work our way along up to the console. biggest C*** of a job.

im glad i now own a falcon so when i change mine it will easy as piss.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:41 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 384

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF Ute

Location: Narre Warren
VIC, Australia

nicco wrote:
Helped a freind do this in his VS as well, we spent bloody hours, but still coudnt get it out. In the end we got it though. But nothing compares to another mate with a VL, had to litterally take apart his whole dash to get to it. Started at the left door and worked his way into the centre. Damn back mount screws!! No bastartd will ever steal it though!!


actually VL's are easy to get into, when you don't want to do it properly, mate had his whole stereo stolen while his car was parked in his driveway, no garage, just a carport, with another car behind it so it couldn't be moved, managed to get the headunit out without removing the dash, considering it was forced in there pretty good and secured down well. i was impressed at the acuracy

 

_________________

Explorers gone, bring on the ute.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 2:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

hixta wrote:
Ive also done this job on my mums VS commonwhore about a year ago. Took me and a friend prob about 2 hours to get to the headdeck. we had to start by pullin out the middle console inbetween the seat and work our way along up to the console. biggest C*** of a job.

im glad i now own a falcon so when i change mine it will easy as piss.


I came home from work, to find my brother (VN commodore) replacing his pioneer deck with another upgraded model. So i took the old one off of him. He already had the old one out by the time i got home, and due to them both being pioneer, his new deck plugged straight in. So i removed my old deck, rewired the plug, got the deck going, and then put it back in. I ended up finishing about 30 minutes before him, and he had a huge head start. Simple!

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:30 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 12

Joined: 29th Jan 2005

Ride: Telstar TX5

Location: Lara, Geelong
VIC, Australia

i did it in my VS2 wagon 3 times...the first time was a c**t, but it still only took us 2hrs to do the full install (get to head deck, remove, rewire and install kenwood one). other 2 times only took about 10mins to get to the deck... :shock: although getting out those panels around the handbrake was a friggin pain in the a**!

 

_________________

1988 AT2 Telstar TX5 Ghia - Lowered, 15" Tires, Shaved Ported & Polished Head, 2.5" Exhaust w/ 3" Chrome Dump Tip, K'n'N Pod Filter, HKS Super Fire Spark Plugs, Kenwood head deck, kenwood 4" 3-way's, clarion 6x9" 3-way's, 1200watt 5chan Boss Audio BA5000 amp, 15" Phoenix Gold Sub

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:51 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names