Fordmods Logo

Wanting to setup a 2 amp setup - have read all posts...help! 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 19 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:15 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

The DMac wrote:
right mate this is what you gotta do

runn the subs from the amps. get the head unit i said which will then allow you to do the crossovers on the speakers which you run from the head unit. you cant run the speakers from teh amps cos you dont have enough channels.

All i know man is that will sound sweet when it is done


Of course that requires buying a new headunit, which is going to add to the cost.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

With not having enough channels out of the 4 channels...currently 2 are used by subs and the other new amp is empty leaving 2 pairs that could be connected so why not connect to it the pair from the crossovers and bridge the rear fill and connect it to the last pair.

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 657

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Location: Eastern Suburbs
VIC, Australia

Big Kev wrote:
With not having enough channels out of the 4 channels...currently 2 are used by subs and the other new amp is empty leaving 2 pairs that could be connected so why not connect to it the pair from the crossovers and bridge the rear fill and connect it to the last pair.


as i said its not a good idea to run 2 speakers (unless its a component system or multiple subs ) off one terminal. it decreases the resistance and increases the %THD. with subs, this makes no realistic difference, but it could create issues with a full range speaker setup.

as i understand its two T420 alpine amps u have. both are 2 channel. one amp is running 2 alpine type S subs, while the other u want to connect 4 speakers to. don't run 4 speakers off a two channel amp, it will either cause heat problems or sound s**t!

try it and find out for yourself!

 

_________________

2003 BA XR6T 5spd Manual PHANTOM
Custom Leather, 20" Kaotiks, Lowered, Exhaust, DVD System, BOV
Plenty more to come!

Member: Team Can't Stop The Doof Doof

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 6:12 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 67

Joined: 31st Dec 2004

Ride: 1966 Mustang GT

Location: Hall
ACT, Australia

It will go hard as when finnished!

 

_________________

Pony Power!

Ride: 1966 Ford Mustang GT

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:07 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names