Fordmods Logo

What is this for ! haa haa 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: What is this for ! haa haa
Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 4:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 422

Joined: 25th Feb 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: HOT EL

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

did all fairmonts come with the wiring for Premium sound ?

 

_________________

The Lion Tamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 4:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

does not look to me like the amp plug but I'm not sure what it is for.

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 4:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

err, wasn't there a gallery link in here before?

In any case, not sure if that's the amp wiring or not - it's certainly in the right spot but that's hardly conclusive. However, I'm positive I saw something, either here or at FF, mentioning that all Fairmonts (sedans anyway :P) had the correct wiring (not to mention parcel shelf holes) it was only utilised in the Ghia's. Could be wrong though.

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 9:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I'm 99% sure the fairmonts had the loom for the premium sound amp running to the boot!!!

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 12:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ah crap :P i asked this a little while ago and ppl said there wasnt :/
so i went and got a new one :(

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 12:58 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

mines got it there...the wires are pretty thin tho

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 1:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

well i havnt put the new wires in yet, neone know how to ? :/ got the afternoon off tomorrow and was hoping to get htem in then

havnt looked yet.. but is there a doco on where to put wires ?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 1:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

They wires that are put there at factory run down the centre of the car underneath the carpet. Too much work to put them there yourself so I'd just run them down the side of the car, take off scuff plates and inclip the carpet and put it down as far as you can then up under the back seat. Should be able to to a fairly quick job that keeps the wires unseen.

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 6:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ah thanks :)
someone was saying keep some wires separate? run one down one side of the car and another down the other ?
which wires were these ?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:01 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Laximah wrote:
ah thanks :)
someone was saying keep some wires separate? run one down one side of the car and another down the other ?
which wires were these ?


power seperate from signals (although it's not 100% needed)


as offyaguts said, running wires down the sides is easy and does a geat job. I've got both sides fitted out.

drivers side, has amp power and line-level audio.
passenger side, has (for car PC) USB, IR remote receiver, VGA, power (for LCD).

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:32 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names