Fordmods Logo

Whats a good speaker cable thickness. 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Whats a good speaker cable thickness.
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 6:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I have an erge to spend some money on the system and just wanted something not too over the top with $$$$$. I saw some speaker cable that is about 10 or 12 gauge thick. Its $4.21 a metre and just want to know if that would cause a reduction in quality being so thick and only having 4" speakers and 6" to run to, the amp is 35wrms x 4. Otherwise i saw some 16 gauge cable for $2.80 a metre. Currently i have 16 gauge running to the sub but i will be uping that to the thicker one for $4.21 a metre. Also in future i will be running some polk splits at 125wrms so will the 16 gauge be alright for them or should i go overkill now so i dont have to worry about it later and folk out more money.

Cheers fellas.

Any thought thanks.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 8:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

16ga should be allright, i'm running 14ga to my subs....

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 9:43 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

look at the size of the cable going from the speakers termianls to the cone/coil. You don't need anything thicker than that, unless you're going long distances, in which case go a size (gauge) thicker.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 9:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

35 * 4? Most decks produce more than that!

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 9:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Andrew J wrote:
35 * 4? Most decks produce more than that!


well tyhey claim to produce more than that (in perfect controlled test situation). what tehy do is actually likely to be less...

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 11:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2098

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: egas bf xt

Location: Gosford
NSW, Australia

Pioneer / Alpine decks i've found are more around 18-23 watt RMS, and even then i think that reading is in favourable conditions... Of course the high end decks might put out more power than that, but not 35watt RMS per channel

 

_________________

I can see through wooden doors.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 11:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

anyway its a pioneer 35 x 4 at 4 ohm and bridged is 100 x 2 at 4ohm. What i am asking is going for the thicker cable gonna lower my quality or something as at the moment it wont have that much power running through it(35 wrms).

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 11:27 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

nah, bigger cables doesn't hurt quality. Bigger cable is better for quality, but of course won't improve a crappy source.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 12:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

The DMac wrote:
anyway its a pioneer 35 x 4 at 4 ohm and bridged is 100 x 2 at 4ohm. What i am asking is going for the thicker cable gonna lower my quality or something as at the moment it wont have that much power running through it(35 wrms).

Cheers

trust me, it doesnt make 35wrmsX4, it'd probably make 1/3rd of that, and ffs dont try to bridge it.....

bigger cable wont hurt the quality, but also isnt really worth it

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 5:01 am 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Interceptor wrote:
The DMac wrote:
anyway its a pioneer 35 x 4 at 4 ohm and bridged is 100 x 2 at 4ohm. What i am asking is going for the thicker cable gonna lower my quality or something as at the moment it wont have that much power running through it(35 wrms).

Cheers

trust me, it doesnt make 35wrmsX4, it'd probably make 1/3rd of that, and ffs dont try to bridge it.....

bigger cable wont hurt the quality, but also isnt really worth it


What gives you the idea it wont make 35W RMS x 4? You dont even know which model number it is.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 9:56 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 244

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: EA falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Waggin wrote:
What gives you the idea it wont make 35W RMS x 4? You dont even know which model number it is.


I doubt ANY headunit would be making 35wrms x 4. Ever seen the size of the internal amplifier on a head unit?? Alot of proper external amplifiers would only just be making this much power...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 2:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

oh s**t sorry guys, i though why is everyone having a go at me :oops: . Its an pioneer gmx 374 amplifier. Not the hu. My headunit is a alpine 9831 that makes 18wrms but i dont have any speakers running off it. My speakers are run through amps not the hu.

So the fat cable would be good. Awesome, it will be overkill i know but thats just the way i do things. the way i see it is if you buy good quality and a little overkill you wont have to worry about it in the future.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 2:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

Rmyers wrote:
Waggin wrote:
What gives you the idea it wont make 35W RMS x 4? You dont even know which model number it is.


I doubt ANY headunit would be making 35wrms x 4. Ever seen the size of the internal amplifier on a head unit?? Alot of proper external amplifiers would only just be making this much power...


My headunit, a pioneer DEH-P1Y, puts out 4x60 pmpo. The specs in the owner's manual say that it puts out 4x27 RMS. For my headunit to do this, you have to wire in a second power lead, which needs 15A. I think that it would be possible for headunits to put out 4x35RMS, but to buy one of these, you would be looking at >$1000 just for the head unit.

I have seen head units in JB HI-FI that say 4x70W.

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 3:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah it would be nice. i am just happy now i can put this bloody thick cable in my car. Lot work and probably no gain. But it would take care of the joins and s**t half way going to the front speakers as i did not have a cable long enough to go the full length of the car at the time of installation.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 4:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

oops.... sorry about the criticism re: HU
IMO going too big is just for show and doesnt really give any benefit

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:13 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names