Fordmods Logo

Whats The Best Way to Fit my HU (Recycled doin my part) 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Whats The Best Way to Fit my HU (Recycled doin my part)
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:59 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 241

Joined: 22nd Mar 2012

Gallery: 4 images

Hi Guys

I got myself a new head unit today for my EF Ford.
It only has a tape deck in it and I need a disk player.
Image

Image

From what I can see it will be not to bad to wire up.
What I want to know is when I cut the old plugs off the factory wirering loom.
What is the best way to join the wires together?
I have not done anything like this before and I want to do a good job right off

Thanks All
Lucion

Last edited by Lucion on Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wirering Up My New Head Unit..Whats The Best Way?
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 7:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 849

Joined: 3rd Jan 2011

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Subaru Liberty RX Wagon MY03

Location: North Richmond
NSW, Australia

The best way would be to just splice into the factory loom, leaving the factory plugs in situ. That way the plugs are still there should you want to sell the car and reinstall the old deck. Soldering the joins would be the best way. The absolute worst way would be the 3M scotchlocks.

You may be able to source a loom from an auto accessory shop that plugs into the factory plugs with ISO colours that will match up to the wiring that came with your deck.

So a couple of options there. Ramble much...

 

_________________

Current ride: MY03 Liberty RX Wagon
EBII S-XR6, Now 5 speed. Moved on to greener pastures...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wirering Up My New Head Unit..Whats The Best Way?
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 7:13 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 241

Joined: 22nd Mar 2012

Gallery: 4 images

evxr6 wrote:
The best way would be to just splice into the factory loom, leaving the factory plugs in situ. That way the plugs are still there should you want to sell the car and reinstall the old deck. Soldering the joins would be the best way. The absolute worst way would be the 3M scotchlocks.

You may be able to source a loom from an auto accessory shop that plugs into the factory plugs with ISO colours that will match up to the wiring that came with your deck.

So a couple of options there. Ramble much...


Sweet thank for the advice mate
lol Ramble away can never get to much info

thanks
Lucion
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wirering Up My New Head Unit..Whats The Best Way?
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 7:58 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 355

Joined: 26th Dec 2008

Ride: BA XLS Ute

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

auto-electrical-forum-f89/cant-finish-headunit-installation-t115713.html

Have a look at the link in TimmyA's reply. Think this would be a better option.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wirering Up My New Head Unit..Whats The Best Way?
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 415

Joined: 13th Nov 2010

Ride: 95 EF GLI

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

you can buy a factory loom from supercheap auto for under $20, this way is the best because you dont butcher anything and you can solder all your wires outside the car. heres one on ebay, so you know what im talking abouthttp://www.ebay.com.au/itm/EF-EL-F ... 3cc8fea0e6, although id recomend supercheap as its a bit cheaper.

 

_________________

95 Ef Gli, mods : Tickford Head, Tickford ecu, Pacemaker 4499, Venom 100 cpi cat, Redback 2.5" catback, Wade 977b cam, ba xr6 intake and SS inductions, k & n filter & leather seats. 147.5kw @ wheels

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wirering Up My New Head Unit..Whats The Best Way?
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:25 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 355

Joined: 26th Dec 2008

Ride: BA XLS Ute

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Chargd wrote:
you can buy a factory loom from supercheap auto for under $20, this way is the best because you dont butcher anything and you can solder all your wires outside the car. heres one on ebay, so you know what im talking abouthttp://www.ebay.com.au/itm/EF-EL-F ... 3cc8fea0e6, although id recomend supercheap as its a bit cheaper.


Your link doesn't work... But its the same thing as i linked in the post from TimmyA.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wirering Up My New Head Unit..Whats The Best Way?
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:01 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 241

Joined: 22nd Mar 2012

Gallery: 4 images

uniacidz wrote:
Easiest way is to buy the ISO connector for the car and link it up to a Kenwood loom that you can match it up.

Use Aerpro connectors. Cheap enough and takes literally 1 min to install.
This to the factory loom
http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online ... escription

then this below to the kenwood headunit
http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online ... escription

I spent 1 hr splicing and soldering, its not fun in cramped areas in a ED falcon
In the EL Xr6, i used something similar above and was so easy.


oh good stuff guys thanks for the help.
I didnt know you could get stuff like that lol
thanks for your time looking that stuff up for me. I had no idea what or where to start
all the best
Lucion :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Whats The Best Way to Fit my HU (Recycled doin my part)
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:50 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 241

Joined: 22nd Mar 2012

Gallery: 4 images

thanks for the info on the wires guys....I have all that done ( happy Dance)
now I have no Idea how to fit it...the cradle that came with it dont seem to work
Can some one please suggest something ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Whats The Best Way to Fit my HU (Recycled doin my part)
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 849

Joined: 3rd Jan 2011

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Subaru Liberty RX Wagon MY03

Location: North Richmond
NSW, Australia

You should be able to use the mounting brackets that came out of your car. Might have to add a couple of extra holes. Just make sure your screws aren't too long.

 

_________________

Current ride: MY03 Liberty RX Wagon
EBII S-XR6, Now 5 speed. Moved on to greener pastures...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Whats The Best Way to Fit my HU (Recycled doin my part)
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:29 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 46

Joined: 31st Jul 2012

Ride: ford au11

Location: bairnsdale
VIC, Australia

agreed, if not drill an extra hole in the brackets, to fit the unit holes.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Whats The Best Way to Fit my HU (Recycled doin my part)
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:47 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 241

Joined: 22nd Mar 2012

Gallery: 4 images

ah ok....thanks guys

Lucion
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Whats The Best Way to Fit my HU (Recycled doin my part)
Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 5:35 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 241

Joined: 22nd Mar 2012

Gallery: 4 images

Well guys its all in and working...Thanks again for your help guys.
It would not have gone so well with you all the help you guys gave me

Lucion :D
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:29 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names