Fordmods Logo

where to hide wiring 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: where to hide wiring
Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 491

Joined: 19th May 2007

Ride: fairmont ED

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

Hey guys, just wondering where everyone puts their wiring?

Im about to instal 1 sub and 2 amps into the boot and that means about 4 wires need to run from the boot to the front of the car..how do i go about covering these?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

run them under the carpet, loom them with existing wires. Just make sure the RCA's are separate from the power cables
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

So 4 wires being? and going to front (dash or battery) dont use the carpet as wires underneath can be pinched or squashed (Even if Ford ran the loom for the premo CD stacker along the centre hump under the console). Use the cavity under kick panels along the sills and yes keep audio signals to the Left side and power to the right (battery) side. Some car audio RCA leads come with a remote power wire running with the audio signal wires, now thats a exception as theres very little current and being supplied clean power from the head unit. Now you dont really have to run a negative from the battery to the boot as a sound clean mounting point on the chassis is quite sufficient. Hope this helps with the 4 wires mate.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:18 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 49

Joined: 18th Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU2 Futura & BFMk2 F/mont Ghia

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Blu Falc wrote:
run them under the carpet, loom them with existing wires. Just make sure the RCA's are separate from the power cables


Couldnt have said it better myself :)

 

_________________

"If it aint broke, dont fix it" ...he clearly doesn't have a car to play with.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 623

Joined: 24th May 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 97 TICKFORD XR6 Manaul

Location: Aldinga Beach
SA, Australia

i ran my power cable under the car but through the chassy rail and my rca's under the kick panels
ive down this to all my cars and my 3 mates cars which ive done too
didnt have to drill any holes just had to use wire ties to keep it tight and tighty
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:56 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names